Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Finger print lock

  1. #1
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    1,993

    Default Finger print lock

    Just seen this:
    Double action fingerprint and access code security door lock for your office, business or home.
    Very good value for money. You can open the lock with either a finger print or pin code or both. and there is also a standard key for the lock as well.
    Finger print lock
    If you do decide to buy don't forget to check that its suitable for your door, ie check which side your hinges are on etc.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by toscal; 18th April 2010 at 01:43 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu

  2. #2
    Automated Home Ninja Andrew Millne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    265

    Default

    These would be great if they were combined with another input for remote release i.e. fingerprint, code and opened remotely by an occupant.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru MichaelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    162

    Default

    They certainly seem cheap enough.

    My experience of fingerprint recognition hasn't been great, my car uses it, but when its really cold, it doesn't read properly until I'm a bit warmer. Audi recommend breathing onto your finger if it won't read straight away.

    And today, because I was doing DIY all weekend, my fingerprints are a bit knocked about, so I can't use my forefinger or thumb. Luckily I've scanned all the fingers on my left hand, so can keep trying them until one works!

    Also had fingerprint recognition on my PDA some years ago, that worked intermittently, up to the point where I caught my finger in a router blade spinning at 11,000 rpm (ouch), and after that it never knew who I was!

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,659

    Default

    ISTR, there was a problem with some of them, too, whereby they didn't clear memory between reads & could be tricked into using the last image rather than insisting on a new one each time - no idea if all of them were like this, and presumably a software update would have fixed it ?

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    1,993

    Default

    I have a finger print lock as access to the node 0 room. What I did was to register the same finger about 10 times, in slightly different positions. This helped with the unit recognising my finger, almost all the time. The times when it doesn't its usually because my finger is a bit dry.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru MichaelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    The times when it doesn't its usually because my finger is a bit dry.
    Thats the problem with the Audi, and is fixed by breathing on the finger. Before I read the manual properly and found that tip, I used to lick my finger, which worked very well, but its a bit gross !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •