Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VGA Wall Plate wiring

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default VGA Wall Plate wiring

    Hi,
    I'm installing some audio & video cables in the walls;
    I have 2 plates with audio & video connectors, one of the ports is for vga;
    One plate will be in the ceiling to connect a projector to, the other will
    be in the wall to plug the laptop into.

    They look like this:
    http://tthtesting.co.uk/vga-plate/P1200052-.jpg
    http://tthtesting.co.uk/vga-plate/P1200053-.jpg

    Which type of cable do I need to connect the VGA connector block to?
    and which wires would then go into which terminals?
    Any help gratefully appreciated!
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    113

    Default

    You could try some of this, http://www.maplin.co.uk/20-way-overa...cart-cable-290

    It is Scart cable and will have more than enough individual cores for what you need but it is shielded which is important. Alternatively you could buy a long VGA cable and chop the ends off and use that.

    I see that it's got HDMI as well, aren't you going to use that instead?

    - Neil

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you Neil, will go and investigate that cable at maplins;
    what I don't know yet is: -whether we use VGA or scart cable, does it matter which wires go into which blocks? as long as they're consistent each end, obviously...

    We will be wiring up the HDMI ports for the future, unfortunately the projector that we currently own doesn't use it, so we need to use the VGA ports for now.

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    113

    Default

    There is another way.

    If you get hold of a length of shielded cat 5 cable and connect pins 1,2,3,6,7,8,13&14 at each end and then using the single uninsulated wire in the cable connect it to pin 10. This should be good for up to 50ft. Nice & cheap and works. If you don't use shielded cable of any type you will get ghosting.

    - Neil

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks so much Neil, we will investigate that and let you know how it turns out.

    The latest puzzle is that we realise there's possibly not enough room behind the plate to plug in all the cables.. \
    Never a dull moment!
    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Just as a matter of interest, I received some RJ45 to VGA adaptors yesterday and I'm now feeding a display from upstairs to downstairs via unshielded cat5 with a cable length of approx 12m with a coupler in the middle as a test and it works perfectly.

    - Neil

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,374

    Default

    Neil -

    sounds good, could you say which adapters you went for, please ?

    Chris

  8. #8
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Chris,

    I used these http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISA...:X:AAQ:GB:1123

    They arrived within a couple of days. When I need more I'll be ordering the same again.

    - Neil

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •