Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Macro which queries the clock

  1. #11
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    252

    Default

    Using a real light object i.e one that is connected to the light.
    Set the light Operating Mode to 'Use Light level, dark to turn on, bright to turn off...'.

    In the Scheduler create an entry to 'Enable' the light when you want it to automate (could come on if dark).
    Similalry create and entry to 'Disable' when you do not want it to be on.

    So you can create a period between 6:30pm and 7:30pm on week days only when if its dark it will come on and if bright not (or turn off).

    Viv

  2. #12
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,365

    Default

    interesting - does that imply it's possible to have two separate Light objects connected to one light, and switch between them by enabling & disabling ?

  3. #13
    Automated Home Guru marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viv View Post
    Using a real light object i.e one that is connected to the light.
    Set the light Operating Mode to 'Use Light level, dark to turn on, bright to turn off...'.

    In the Scheduler create an entry to 'Enable' the light when you want it to automate (could come on if dark).
    Similalry create and entry to 'Disable' when you do not want it to be on.

    So you can create a period between 6:30pm and 7:30pm on week days only when if its dark it will come on and if bright not (or turn off).
    Thanks Viv.

    And if I've interpreted your answer correctly, if we wanted these lights to also have the ability to operate manually via a button press (as they are driveway lights and I also have a key fob to operate them when we're coming home at night), to have that button to also actually enable/disable the master control.

    And in the case that we did want the ability to have them switch on during the day (they're LED lights, so have been considering to double up their use to also use them for indication, eg maybe such as flashing twice when the house alarm is armed, flashing once when the house alarm is turned off), how would one best incorporate that (I'm thinking macro of some description)?



    And if

  4. #14
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    252

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marcuslee View Post
    Thanks Viv.

    And if I've interpreted your answer correctly, if we wanted these lights to also have the ability to operate manually via a button press (as they are driveway lights and I also have a key fob to operate them when we're coming home at night), to have that button to also actually enable/disable the master control.

    And in the case that we did want the ability to have them switch on during the day (they're LED lights, so have been considering to double up their use to also use them for indication, eg maybe such as flashing twice when the house alarm is armed, flashing once when the house alarm is turned off), how would one best incorporate that (I'm thinking macro of some description)?

    And if
    In view of what you have said perhaps the following is more suitable.

    Set the lights normal operating mode to 'Manual control only'.
    The light may then be toggled and flashed as required by whatever means e.g Alarm.

    Create a Macro
    1. Send a value of 8 to the lights operating mode to switch it to 'Use Light level, dark to turn on, bright to turn off...' mode.
    2. Wait time delay of one hour.
    3. Send a value of 7 to the lights operating mode to switch it back to 'Manual control only'.
    4. Trigger the Light to turn off to ensure it goes off (if it was brought on by dark state).

    You can vist Lights connections help for details of values for Operating mode.

    Configure the Event Scheduler to start the Macro at 6:30.

    During the period between 6:30 and 7:30 you can still use the keyfob to force it on/off.

    Viv

  5. #15
    Automated Home Guru marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viv View Post
    In view of what you have said perhaps the following is more suitable.

    Set the lights normal operating mode to 'Manual control only'.
    The light may then be toggled and flashed as required by whatever means e.g Alarm.

    Create a Macro
    1. Send a value of 8 to the lights operating mode to switch it to 'Use Light level, dark to turn on, bright to turn off...' mode.
    2. Wait time delay of one hour.
    3. Send a value of 7 to the lights operating mode to switch it back to 'Manual control only'.
    4. Trigger the Light to turn off to ensure it goes off (if it was brought on by dark state).

    You can vist Lights connections help for details of values for Operating mode.

    Configure the Event Scheduler to start the Macro at 6:30.

    During the period between 6:30 and 7:30 you can still use the keyfob to force it on/off.
    Hi Viv,

    Thanks for reply. So even during the period it's set to use light level etc, objects which perform toggle action on the light, still operate, if I've read above correctly.

    I'll give it a go!

    Cheers,

    Marcus

  6. #16
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    252

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marcuslee View Post
    Hi Viv,

    Thanks for reply. So even during the period it's set to use light level etc, objects which perform toggle action on the light, still operate, if I've read above correctly.

    I'll give it a go!

    Cheers,

    Marcus
    Yes thats correct. It achieves this by by changing the override mode. Getting this type of behaviour actually took several years of experimenting with different logic.

    Viv

  7. #17
    Automated Home Guru marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viv View Post
    Yes thats correct. It achieves this by by changing the override mode. Getting this type of behaviour actually took several years of experimenting with different logic.
    Ok I've configured, so will give it a go. Thanks for the time in this Viv, also appreciate the effort with the several years of experimenting to get this functionality!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •