Why is it so difficult to get clear, DIY instructions for installing a smart control

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • andrewh
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Dec 2014

Why is it so difficult to get clear, DIY instructions for installing a smart control

Hello, I'm a newbie in the forum so forgive me if these subjects have been covered. I'm completely sold on smart heating control - which should have me loads.

I'm thinking on Honeywell Evohome or the German Max! from eq-3.de , with an internet gateway.

The latter is a great price. Although I've had some great support from Evohome in the UK, I still don't know how to stitch a smart system into my existing system, which is

an oil-fired boiler (Chappée Sempra Progress ) with an "Ecocontrol" SP0B simple controller which adjusts the boiler temperature and the hot water temperature.

Absolutely ZERO on the Chappee website about home automation ("la Domotique" in French)

The main, programmable room thermostat (Honeywell AQ6000) is attached to the Honeywell control panel (date - maybe 1995) which controls the 3-way motorized valve

SUrely, I should be able to remove all this old Honeywell controller and replace with an up-to-date system ? It should be a question of wiring a few components together, then doing the programming !

BUT, my house is in France, and no-one likes the consumer to get into the professional domain. All the professional help I've tried to get in France has been completely off the mark. And - outrageously expensive.Hayman P1060381.jpgHayman P1060380.jpg

I don't need a *professional* to program for me, do internet gateways, nor to stick on thermostatic radiator heads !

Maybe I have to learn German to figure our the Max! system.
  • Rameses
    Industry Expert
    • Nov 2014