Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cortex and Hikvision IP Cameras

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru Nad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default Cortex and Hikvision IP Cameras

    Hi all,

    I was wondering if anyone has had any experience on getting the Hikvision IP cameras working in Cortex? I've set the substream to MJPEG and am using the URL given by Hikvision but nothing is coming up on screen.

    I've tried to add the user name and password to the URL and into the Cortex camera object but still no luck.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as I was planning to add a number of additional cameras.

    Thanks,
    Nad

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    785

    Default

    Are you able to view the stream using Firefox and the same URL on that computer?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru Nad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Hi Karam,

    I don't use firefox but I installed it just to run the test and it worked with no issues. Its the same with Chrome.

    I get the prompt for user name and password when I use http://ip/Streaming/channels/102/httppreview. Same for both firefox and chrome.
    If i use http://username:password@ip/Streamin...02/httppreview I get a pop up window in firefox saying ... You are about to log into the site "ip" with username "Username" and you have to press OK to proceed to view the stream. Where as there is no notification of any sort when using the same url in Chrome.

    Thanks,
    Nad

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    785

    Default

    The test site we usual use seems not to be working so try this one to see if you get anything (in Cortex I mean):

    "http://webcam.st-malo.com/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?resolution=352x288"

    .. had to put in quotes since otherwise part of the url seemed to go missing in the post
    Last edited by Karam; 16th October 2016 at 01:11 PM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Guru Nad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Hi Karam,

    Test link works just fine so I guess its something to do with the compatibility of the Hikvision camera. Anything else i can try?

    Thanks,
    Nad

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    785

    Default

    In Firefox try this to capture what the camera might be sending in the initial http header and send to me:

    view-source:http://.........

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru Nad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Hi all,

    I just wanted to let anyone who is thinking of using a Hikvision camera know that the following URL in Cortex is working!

    http://ip/streaming/channels/2/picture

    This URL is for getting JPEG snapshots but for some reason it is returning a video feed in Cortex. The same URL in Firefox, IE or Chrome brings up the snapshot so it looks like it may have something to do with the way the Hikvision camera is responding to the request from Cortex (or something else completely!). I've not had a chance to play with it properly yet with regards to motion detection and recordings so will update this thread in due course.

    The camera is a Hikvision DS-2CD2532F-IWS running firmware version 5.3.3 (will be upgrading to 5.4.0 later to see if that makes a difference).

    Thanks,
    Nad

  8. #8
    Automated Home Ninja Andrew Millne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    262

    Default

    I have some of these but I haven't set them up in Cortex. I'm accessing them directly using Blue Iris software but I'm following the thread to see how you get on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •