• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Felkin123
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Dec 2015

Evohome. Moving to opentherm S plan setup with Ideal Vogue

Hi Everyone.

Had a good trawl here and over at the evohome shop. but think i need something spelling out for me. Im a GSR engineer so one of those who does the "basic" plumbing and gas work Im also trying to keep up with the smart technologies and fit them for customers, Ive fitted 3 evohome systems to combis with little or no issues and two lyric wired based opentherm systems to combis also with little issue. The first evohome was fitted to an old glow worm ultracom which was in my house at purchase. I have since removed the glow worm and fitted an ideal vogue s26 with unvented cylinder. I got this all working properly with EH (including a new hot water kit and BDR alongside the existing tank stat in series) along with my existing evohome heating kit by resetting and reconfiguring it using some instructions Richard had put up for someone else. The current config is 2x2 port zone valves and an ABV one for heating (all rads have HR92s) and one for hot water both operated by BDR 91s both of which then activate the switched live to the boiler as required So a standard S plan evohome config right ?

So. If I want to use opentherm....., I purchase the bridge and replace the BDR which controls the heating 2 port valve. I then configure the opentherm bridge as a boiler control relay (as you would a combi) this is where I get stuck, how to wire this ? how does the DHW 230v 2port valve switch then tell the opentherm bridge using 24v to fire the vogue. i cant use switched live and 24V on the Vogue at the same time according to Ideal. Im sure this has been explained on these pages somewhere but maybe Im too snowblind to see it. is there a schematic available for this setup ?
  • HenGus
    Automated Home Legend
    • May 2014