CAT5e - Ethernet, BT Telephone Wiring - HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bhav
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2006

CAT5e - Ethernet, BT Telephone Wiring - HELP!

Hi there,

I am very new to this so please bear with me.

I am going to get my house totally rewired. I have already decided to get CAT5e put through the walls for ethernet - I am totally comfortable with this (other members of my family have already done this).

However, my question is about running a totally separate CAT5e network just phone the BT phone line.

This is something no one I know has experience in. After doing a considerable amount of research, I think it's true that the cable will come out at the wall as an RJ45 socket, and I can either use a RJ45-->BT plug adapter, or cut of the plug on the BT phone and crimp it to RJ45.

However, I am not sure how the CAT5e should be wired at the wall in order for it to work with a BT phone. I intend to buy solid UTP CAT5e, and so I'd like to know how the 4 pairs go into the RJ45 CAT5e insert.

I also wanted to know what happens at the other end. Where does all the CAT5e for the phone line go? I've read a lot about a "patch panel". What does this do and how does it work?

And finally, can I still use ADSL on this CAT5e BT phone line, like I am at the moment? Currently, I use a microfilter to split voice and data on the standard BT line - is it just the same thing when there's CAT5e in the walls?

I'd appreciate some help.

Thanks,

Bhav.
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Re: CAT5e - Ethernet, BT Telephone Wiring - HELP!

Here is a link for wiring of Cat5e cables
    In this helpful tutorial, LANshack provides step by step instructions on how to make a category 5 Cat 5E or a category 6 patch cable.

And here is a tutorial link

You can buy a CAT5e to BT adapter I know RS sells them, the RS order codes are
    243-027 for the full master socket
    243-011 for a PABX master socket
    242-989 for a secondary socket.