Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43

Thread: What no Z-Wave?

  1. #11

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    keyvan

    I think what he's saying is there's no distribution/retail partner that has been able to give them an order of a size significant enough to warrant a production run of UK specific modules. At least that's what I take out of it.

    Thanks

    M.

  2. #12
    Automated Home Jr Member Wolfthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Braintree, Es***, UK
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    This is my take on it.

    The chain of "supply" of all things electrical is Manufacturer > Distributer > Retailer.

    The Manufacturer will have a minimum run to make it worth their while, and they won't manufacturer anything because typically they won't have the storage capacity for the end product - that's the job of the distributer.

    Retailers can place orders with Distributors in quantities much less than those demanded by the Manufacturer.

    In the case of Z-Wave, I don't think there is a nominated distributor in the UK. So retailers are having to approach the Manufacturer directly. So instead of buying a stock of 100 units, they're being asked to place orders in their thousands.

    Which for retailers is quite alot of stuff to shift.

    What the article on this site seems to indicate is that a distributor in the UK will appointed at the end of the year, which will then supply in more manageable batches to the UK retailers.

    The reason we're able to buy the Z-Wave units in the US is that they have a distributor/retailer network. What I can't quite get my head round is that a distributor in the US has a warehouse full of UK units. Unless what we are seeing is remnants of a "first run" being sold in small quantities world wide...?

  3. #13
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfthing
    Despite never hearing of Automated Outlet before, I placed the order this morning for two Lamp modules and a Remote Control (is there a difference between a US remote and a UK remote?)

    Okay, I'm ever so slightly suspicious of a company outside of the UK, selling UK modules - it's unheard of.
    Well, i havent used them personally but many on the HomeSeer board recommend them, and martin is a regular poster (he knows what he is talking about!!). Also HomeSeer also sell the uk modules in their store at www.homeseer.com

    Ben

  4. #14
    Automated Home Jr Member Wolfthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Braintree, Es***, UK
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    I fired off an e-mail to Homeseer to see if this was true and Karen replied with: -

    "We don't have them listed because the manufacturer does not have them in stock. You can try letsautomate.com. If they do not have them now, they will have them as soon as possible.
    Best regards,
    Karen "

  5. #15
    Automated Home Jr Member Wolfthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Braintree, Es***, UK
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    No sooner did I post a reply to the "Homeseer" stock claim, than the first part of my Z-Wave order land on my desk from Martin @ Automated Outlet in the US.

    My fears - ordering UK equipment from the US - were cleared when I read the box and checked the Lamp Unit, "ZDP210, Radio Frequency Controller, 300W, 230AC. Plug-In Lamp Module(UK)" - Superb

    The remote is a little "thicker" than I would have liked, but feels quite robust without being heavy.

    No doubt I'll be trying it out tonight and writing a comprehensive review which I'm hoping the AutomatedHome chaps will publish (maybe a bit much to squeeze into this forum).

    All in all this is the best Monday I've had in a long time...

  6. #16

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    WolfThing - be delighted to publish your Z-Wave review. Please email me plain text and jpgs.

    Thanks

    M.

  7. #17
    Automated Home Jr Member Wolfthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Braintree, Es***, UK
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    This is very nearly the end of our Z-Wave saga, a review complete with a few photos, is on it's way.

    In the meantime I found this top little link for the "International" Z-Wave kit.

    http://www.act-solutions.com/pdfs/HomePro/Inst/

    It contains PDF's for all the manuals for the Z-Wave modules.

    In a nutshell, the Z-Wave kit is everything I expected and more. It gets top marks for setup, and it gets very high marks (not top because I had to look up how to Dim on the web!) for operability.

    The best fun in the world is switching the "garden" off from my living room, just as the missus is half way through cleaning out the rabbit hutch at the bottom of the garden!

  8. #18
    Automated Home Jr Member Wolfthing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Braintree, Es***, UK
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    Can we have a Z-Wave forum yet? Or have I, one-man-Z-Wave-crusade-man, got to drum up some more Z-Wave interest?

  9. #19

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    Sure, I'll add it this afternoon and move the Z-Wave threads into it.

    M.

  10. #20

    Default Re: What no Z-Wave?

    OK, here you go. Welcome to the Z-Wave forum

    M.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •