• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RichardRahl
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Nov 2006

Voice control with an X10 system

Hi All,

I'm an absolute newbie to X10 (as in I only heard about it yesterday) and wanted to check something out with those in the know.

As a S/W engineer I'd be interested in writing a Voice Control module for an X10 system. I say write it and not buy it because a google webcheck shows this kind of enhancement coming in at around £200 and I'm a bit of a cheapskate so I'd rather write my own system.

Are there any X10 Software packages/drivers out there that can be automated through API/ActiveX?

Alternatively, an X10 controller that I can communicate with and control directly.

Apologies if my question is naive or doesn't make sense, as I said I only heard about this yesterday and I'm fascinated and more than a little giddy at the S/W projects I could develop with this.

Cheers in advance
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Re: Voice control with an X10 system

Have you had a look at Homeseer. www.homeseer.com This has voice control capabilities. It retails at about 136 pounds. On the download page of the website there is an active x download don´t know if you need Homeseer to use it though.
    If you are looking for voice recognition then you need a fairly fast PC. I´ve tried Homeseer on a 1.2GHz mini itx pc and the response time was quite slow for voice recognition.
    On the Dec issue of computer shopper DVD version there is a program called Talk It Type It. This may be able to control X10.
    Another one is IBM Via Voice, this costs about $80, and can control other programs by voice.
    Have a look here for some utility progs and the RS232 Communication Protocol for the CM11 https://www.intellihome.be/english/s...ex.asp?menu=12
    Good luck
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• RichardRahl
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Nov 2006