Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Can I use zcu010 as a Sniffer

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Can I use zcu010 as a Sniffer

    I bought the CF2 system from Danfoss and this works on the Zwave basis.
    Everything works perfect but I would like to add some extra confort by controling the system by computer.

    There is no support via Controlthink or Homeseer and I therfore would like to log what is send via the remote control to the master controller and vise versa.
    My Idea is to make a setup where the remote is so far from the master controller that it needs the ZCU010 to make contact with the controller.
    In this way it's possible to log what passes the ZCU010.

    As you may gues I need some driver/software to log/snif the data.
    Is there anything like this?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    hi, heubie
    ZCU010 is PC controller, it is not sniffer. Zensys has sniffer in their dev kit, it is what you want.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    6

    Default

    It is tru that Danfoss use a Z-Wave on the CF2 system. But they use a "closed" communication. So it is not possible to use a 3-parts software/hardware to control this system.
    Another thing about CF2 - Danfoss dont use Z-Wave logo. So its mean that they dont support official Z-Wave Logo Program on this product.
    http://www.zen-sys.com/index.php?page=524
    Last edited by hkmod25; 21st November 2007 at 09:52 AM.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    They used to bo be on the zensys site with there product but it is taken off after I complained about the compatibility, after I bought the stuff of course..... :-(

    I had contact with Danfoss and asked the if the system is "closed" and the confermed this. They are not planing to make a device which let you control the system by a computer.

    But what is "closed" in this modern world. I'm sure the a lot of network administrators thought they had "closed" there network from the outside world. The only thing I am looking for is a key to open it up so it can work with my domotica-system (as promised on the zensys site, when I bought it)

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heubie View Post
    They are not planing to make a device which let you control the system by a computer.
    This information is not correct. Right now Danfoss have a product (Radiator Termostat - RA PLUS-w) that are compatible with Z-wave hardware from another manufacturers (Innovus, Merten) and also PC control systems...
    Also I was in contact with a Danfoss dev. center in UK. They make a test and certification job for another Z-Wave based products that will be available probably in Q1 2008.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    @ hkmod25,

    If this is the case this is VERY GOOD NEWS. But are yuo sure that it wil be possible to control the CF2 system, since it is a "closed communication" system?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heubie View Post
    @ hkmod25,

    If this is the case this is VERY GOOD NEWS. But are yuo sure that it wil be possible to control the CF2 system, since it is a "closed communication" system?
    I talking here about new (Z-Wave) products from Danfoss.
    I also think that CF2 will never be possible to control with some PC software...

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I mis-understoot your first mailing.
    I mailed Danfoss Denmark again to see if there are any changes in the CF2 productionline.
    If this is not the case then I am thinking of buying a second main controller to see if I can control this one with my PC. I opend up my current one and see that this it not more than a microcontroller a display and a zm1220 unit.
    Controle of the 6 buttons should not be to much of a problem but capturing the display data will be more of a problem.
    If anybody has any information on the zwave protocol that is used on rx/tx lines of the zm1220 or anything else that may help please let me know.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    6

    Default

    You can found some Information about Z-Wave protocol on ours support side: http://www.smarthus.info/support.php

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    @ hkmod25,

    you have pm
    Last edited by heubie; 10th December 2007 at 01:43 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •