• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ha-darren
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Mar 2007

Planning

I moved into a 30 year old house about 3 months ago and I'm interested in retro-fitting some HA. I'm thinking of changing a lot of electrics and I'm quite prepared to run masses of cabling.

The plan is to have a number of touchscreen control panels linked to a PC. I'd like the panels to be able to control everything from heating & light to home audio.

I am a software developer so I will write all the control software myself, but I don't know a great deal about the various protocols. I spent some time reading up on X10, but it doesn't look like a reliable and futureproof system for someone prepared to start from scratch. I've starting reading up on CBUS and it looks more promising, but can someone advise on a suitable protocol? Maybe there is a document which does a protocol comparison?
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Have you had a look at EIB/Konnex. I'm only mentioning this as a few forum members have reported problems with CBUS.
    Have a look here www.konnex.org/
    And also here www.eibshop.co.uk/
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• Paul_B
      Automated Home Legend
      • Jul 2006

I can vouch for the Idratek system, www.idratek.com, which uses a BUS wiring scheme. Cable can be pretty much anyting but CAT5 works well

Comment

• ha-darren
        Automated Home Lurker
        • Mar 2007

Perhaps I'm jumping too far ahead looking for a suitable protocol when I should be deciding on a transport medium to get technical plans drawn up.

Most protocols I've looked at work over CAT5, so is it a safe bet to say if I put CAT5 in I'm going to have choices with protocol? Unless each protocol has a specific way it needs to be wired; in series, lights in series, etc. Power too - maybe some protocols needs a 230v supply to each applicance whilst others can power low voltage appliances directly?