• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • abb
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Jun 2007

Motorised / Solenoid Radiator Valves

hi

does anyone know of any motorised or solenoid operated radiator valve that do NOT require a battery and can be run from mains (preferable) or 12-24VDC?

i am far from an expert, but i have seen something described as 2 port actuators, will these do?

i would like to remote control every (conventional) radiator... i do not want underfloor heating.

any ideas or pointers very much appreciated.

thanks!
  • dazzlevw
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Sep 2006

Two spring to mind off the top of my head,
    Idratek do the rva-001, which is a motorised replacement head for a standard trv body, runs off 24vDC, see here.

Second I'm sure honeywll do one as part of one of their smart systems, I can't find a link at the minute.

***EDIT***

Honeywell's CM zone system employs HR80 actuators which fit on the trv body, all monitored by the CM67z programmer. This give up to two zones, independantly controlled.

***EDIT OVER***

You could use standard two port valves, along with a thermostat per room and some creative wiring, although I suspect this would be an expensive and over-complicated route.

good luck with whatever you find.

Daz
    Last edited by dazzlevw; 20 June 2007, 09:02 AM. Reason: added more info
    -----------------------------
    www.darrenwright.me.uk
    www.gbpvr.com
    www.slimdevices.com

Comment

• abb
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Jun 2007

thanks for the reply Daz.

i have seen the honeywell system, but their website never seems to work properly. i did notice that their TRV replacements are battery powered, and i definitely do not want this.

i checked out the idratek valves and they are £30 a pop!

i like the idea of 2 port valves, as i can pick these up for around £5 each at sunday markets. has someone used these before? i cannot see any reason why they cannot be used, but this is my first automation project.