• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FourQ
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Mar 2007

TMD4 / Ceiling fan

Hi all,

I'm kinda new to the whole X10 thing, and on a very tight budget, so don't want to blow a brand new module.

I have a TMD4 (which has taken nine months to save for) that I'd like to use it to turn on:
    1: two 11 watt low energy bulbs
    2: standard 40 watt incandescent bulb
    3: standard 40 watt incandescent bulb
    4: 39 watt ceiling fan attached to light (on switch 2)

I'm aware that I'll not be able to dim the low energy bulbs on switch 1, but wonder if they'd still light up from the module, and whether or not I'd be able to confuse the module into thinking the 39 watt fan is a bulb.

Can anyone offer a newbie some advice?

Thanks.
    Only a biker truly understands why a dog sticks its head out of a car window!
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

The TMD4 is an X10 transmitter. And by itself can not turn anything on or off. Plus you need to use momnetary switches. You will also need to invest in some appliance modules. Personally I would have gone for a TMA4, and 4 appliance modules. The TMA4 can also use normal switches.
    Will you be able to program the module. If not you will be stuck with the following defaults Address will be A1 to A4. No dim or bright functions (not that important for you). Doesn't respond to All Lights On or Off.
    So to get your project to work you will need 4 appliance modules, such as the AW12 micro module, set to A1, A2, A3 and A4 for example. Another option would be to use AM12W modules these are much bigger but have the added advantage of having code wheels on them so their addresses can be configured manually.
    Hope this helps
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• FourQ
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Mar 2007

Thanks Toscal.

I nearly had an electrician fit this to control the lounge! (blush)