Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

  1. #21
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    maybe we should lay just conduits & drawstrings & await events ... our budget would certainly encourage us to do that !
    That's what I've done although, for now, I've filled the conduits with Cat5e, coax & speaker cable. My wiring is really configured for a centralised infrastructure, although items with an ethernet port could be located anywhere.

    How far off are you "finishing" your place?

    Tim.

  2. #22
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

    Tim -

    >finishing ...

    outside almost done, started on inside, drains & waste-pipes are all in ('cos they're most particular on routes & falls), ventilation pipes going-in now ('cos need to ensure clean flow, so they're quite critical, too), plumbing & electrical conduits next (in that order, maybe, 'cos need the plumbing to be quiet), then ufh & screed & plaster ... then maybe top-floor down ... trouble is, we've other things going-on & don't get as much time as we'd like to do it ! Still, gives more time for homework ! Updated the photo's on UK_Selfbuild the other day ...

    Anyway, hence the burning interest in Cat-5 & network topologies & DIN-rails & tools, etc - in this case for the AV part of the job ! We've taken a lot of trouble over things acoustic, so I'm keen to try it out ... wonder when that'll be & what we'll play first ??

    Chris

  3. #23
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

    Tim -

    >analogue ... digital ...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Component_video

    includes this :

    Digital component video is slowly becoming popular in both computer and home-theatre applications. Component video is capable of carrying signals such as 480i, 480p, 576i, 576p, 720p, 1080i and 1080p, although some TVs do not support 1080p through component video.

    and the Abitana mention in

    http://www.abitana.com/index.php?id=49&L=0&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=20&tx_ttnews[backPid]=1&cHash=cae4cd11ec

    of YcbCr in :

    The adapter draws the Component Video signal (YUV, YPbPr, YcbCr) and the coaxial Digital Audio signal ...

    made me think there could be a digital Component option ...

    that they could be using ...

    YcbCr, as in :

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YCbCr

    Chris

  4. #24
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Chris,

    Do you have a link to the pics on the Self Build pages?

    We have discussed the type and style of wiring but what sort of video will you my distributing and how? Are you going to rip DVDs to NAS, link mutliple free-view / free-sat units direct into the topology? Use streaming from PC cards?

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

    Paul -

    >UK_SelfBuild ...

    http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/UK_.../UK_Selfbuild/

    you'll need to join to get to the Photos area ... I included a montage, which you'd have to view with the large option, though I rather over-did the file-size reduction on the jpeg ... was thinking too much of people's down-load times ... next time I'll be less extreme !

    >what sort of video will you my distributing and how ...

    anything out of the Macs, which (going forward) probably includes quite a lot, certainly photo's & videos, possibly TV (if we have it, we don't at the moment), and stuff from the 'net, plus DVDs & HD-DVDs / BlueRay ... the Macs will be networked with Ethernet, of course, including some form of NAS & the MiniITX running 'XP for Cortex etc, and they will feed external displays (standard, dual included) via DVI & HDMI, which we intend to use to feed several around the house, some small, primarily for info' (time, weather, HA status, etc), some larger, primarily for HD photo's & video ... well, that's the idea, anyway ... it'll be a challenge, budget-wise, but hopefully there'll be some good end-of-line offers from time to time !

    Chris

  6. #26
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

    PS: should have noted that the Macs will run OSX & Windows & Linux, and that the DVDs / HD-DVDs / BlueRay data doesn't have to go (as it were) through the Macs, 'though often it will ... and that stuff from the 'net could be e-mails or movies, or anything in-between ... that the bandwidth will allow (G3 will soon be 14+ whatever the units are, and landlines presumably will take another step up, which we need to anticipate) ...

  7. #27
    Automated Home Lurker The Masked Installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I know they've been mentioned on this thread already and discounted on cost grounds, but Gefen make the most fantastic HDMI over Cat5e products. Needs two Cat5e cables, but it's great quality stuff. For component switching - whether you're going to distribute it over Cat5e or coaxial - Autopatch make really nice matrix switchers.

  8. #28
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default Full house Audio and Video - The last piece of the puzzle.

    'trouble is, the Gefen kit is not just expensive, it's v.expensive - would need a v.good margin to put one in unexpectedly !

    1 to 10 HDMI :
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4563
    at USD650 + cables

    which gives some hope, but :

    1 to 8 HDMI over Cat-5 :
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4719
    at USD5000 (3000 as above + 8x250 receivers) + cables

    1 to 8 Component over Cat-5 Matrix :
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4717
    at USD3100 (1500 + 8x200) + cables

    4 to 4 HDMI over Cat-5 Matrix :
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4559
    at USD4000 (includes receivers & cables)

    4 to 4 HDMI over Cat-5 Extender :
    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4558
    at USD2000 (includes receivers & cables)

    BTW, they all do up to 1080p TV / 1920 x 1200 Computer, which is great, up to 150' away (1080i would be 300'), their web-site is a model of clarity, and the range of their kit is amazingly complete !

  9. #29
    Automated Home Lurker The Masked Installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Gefen

    Beautifully made too. yes, but you're right they are expensive

  10. #30
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    604

    Default

    I just can't get video multi-room distribution sorted in my mind so please help explalin to my thick head!

    First of all what I want:
    All AV kit located out of site (in the garage)
    Receive any available video source in any room (living, kitchen, master bedroom). Either the same source or different source.
    Digital TV through aerial will not be available until 2012 here (we are too close to France so transmission signals have to be very low)

    What I am thinking:
    I need a Matrix Switch? From reading AVForums HDMI still seems expensive and problems with compatability between manufacturers. Therefore, I am thinking component.
    Does a Matrix Switch for Component direct to CAT5 exist?
    Would I be better off running co-axial cable as well as Cat5?

    How do I use all 4 satellite signals from the dish (1 x Full Sky Package and 3 x Freesat)
    What about using Microsoft Media Centre or MythTV with a Hauppage Capture Card and then a media center extender for each room (like the new Linksys MC Extender II)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •