Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5678910
Results 91 to 97 of 97

Thread: Sub-Meter Electricity Monitoring

  1. #91
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    Gumby got a group of us together a little over a year ago & bulk-bought an Eltako unit (32A 1-DIN, IIRC) ...
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 4th August 2010 at 06:35 PM.

  2. #92
    Moderator Gumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    437

    Default

    Hi Doug

    The DIN mount units were Eltako and sourced from Rayleigh Instruments. The bulk buy led to a significant discount. There were a lot of Chinese made energy meters around as well, but I guess we all shied away from the somewhat unknown provenance.


    Possible altenatives to search for:
    Eltako WSZ12B-32A, EVA12-32A, EWZ12E-32A, WSZ12E-32A
    INEPRO ADM1TE, ADM1D, ADM1.5TE, ADM1LCD
    Saia-Burgess ALD1D5F10KA2A00
    Microcustom MD25
    Chinese Clones (maybe) PRO1TE, DRM100?
    Carlo Gavazzi EM10, EM11
    SongYang SY1015
    YTL DDS-1Y-18L


    Possible Suppliers:
    Stephen Wales
    MeterManager
    SHMcomms
    PJW
    MeterMaid
    JWInstruments
    Procuro


    Some suppliers didn't even respond to my enquiries...
    The INEPRO ones were the cheapest and most widely available at around 20.


    HTH.
    ----------------------
    www.gumbrell.com

  3. #93
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Thanks Gumby,
    I'll get looking!

    Doug

  4. #94
    Automated Home Jr Member RichardC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djgrah View Post
    Thanks Gumby,
    I'll get looking!

    Doug

    I have had 12 meters from a German company.

    I first spoke about these in thread - http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...0774#post10774

    I've just followed the link in the origional post and it's broken now try http://www.top-messtechnik.com/jtlsh...a=475&lang=eng

    I origionally got a couple of these which are rated at 32A max current, I also got a meter from Steven Wales which is rated at 45A for a shower feed. I then checked accuracy of the meters against a calibrated meter.

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...?t=2217&page=6

    They feed into Cortex, want to develop this further, I am also measureing Gas but all the work on Cortex is a bit stalled at the moment with loads of building work needing to be done on the refurb of our house.

    Cheers

    Rich

  5. #95
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Thanks Rich,
    I stumbled across the German meters which look good. I seem to have found the key to finding these things on the internet is to search for marine or caravan electrical suppliers. I guess they are used a lot for electric hookups etc.
    I had a chat with the electricians doing our house about fitting them, while they were quite happy to do so they did warn me I would need 8 if I wanted to monitor all the ring mains and lighting circuits! They suggested a more cost effective solution would be to buy a second hand wall mount electric meter and monitor the whole house at once. For circa 15 it sounded like a good idea!
    Doug

  6. #96
    Automated Home Jr Member RichardC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djgrah View Post
    I had a chat with the electricians doing our house about fitting them, while they were quite happy to do so they did warn me I would need 8 if I wanted to monitor all the ring mains and lighting circuits! They suggested a more cost effective solution would be to buy a second hand wall mount electric meter and monitor the whole house at once. For circa 15 it sounded like a good idea!
    Doug
    Well if it helps, I have 15 of these meters. I have two lighting circuits and two power circuits for each floor of the house. Its a two story house. I also monitor elec going to the 5kw UPS for the servers and AV gear. The elec shower, cooker and other home automation kit inc Idratek kit are also on seperate meters.

    I also have two calibrated electronic meters to measure the mains feeder and another for a furture feed for PV panels on the house to measure imports from that system. These also measure PF and THD which are not important from a domestic point of view.

    With the gas meter I have an good idea of all the computing, lighting, heating and cooking etc costs of the house. (This is sometimes not a good idea, but does help or hinder in the discussion with SWMBO as to how much elec "my" servers take etc! - soon I should have the money for a new WHS system)

    To fit the meters and also to provide seperation from the hosue CU I fed all the circuits into a seperate CU where the meters and the Idratek modules monitor the pulses from the various meters.

    Hope that provides some inspiration

  7. #97
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djgrah View Post
    Thanks Rich,
    I stumbled across the German meters which look good. I seem to have found the key to finding these things on the internet is to search for marine or caravan electrical suppliers. I guess they are used a lot for electric hookups etc.
    I had a chat with the electricians doing our house about fitting them, while they were quite happy to do so they did warn me I would need 8 if I wanted to monitor all the ring mains and lighting circuits! They suggested a more cost effective solution would be to buy a second hand wall mount electric meter and monitor the whole house at once. For circa 15 it sounded like a good idea!
    Doug
    But if you only have one meter then it makes it harder to see what is the largest consumer of electricity. Where as the 8 individual ones would give you a better idea which circuit the largest consumer is on. Though this could vary at different times of the day.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •