Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Streaming live TV via LAN

Default Streaming live TV via LAN

I've been investigating TV over LAN, For a potential clianet, and came across these 2 products. I was wondering if anyone here has used either.
    MSI TV@nywhere http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?f...maincat_no=132
    and DVBcore My Theatre
    http://www.dvbcore.com/MyTheatre.html

Or does anyone have another solution

Hi toscal,

The Slingbox series of devices (http://www.slingmedia.com/) seem quite popular and I know of someone using theirs to watch UK TV when they're abroad.

There's also these products from Exterity, but I've no experience of them. What I have heard is that you need to sit down before being told the price
    (http://www.videocentric.co.uk/stream...et-mpeg2.shtml)

HTH,

Tim.

The main problem I see with the sling box is that only one person can log in and watch. Not quite what I was after. Though for the price I donīt think you can probably beat it.
    I think the Exterity products is more what I am after. Will have to contact them and see how big the stiff drink I need is.
    Something else I just though about, all the products seem to require software on the PC you are using. I wonder if there are any that don't.
    Many thanks TimH.
    Last edited by toscal; 13th January 2008 at 04:22 PM.

Something else I thought of: www.videolan.org
    Check out the "streaming" link for an overview of what it can do.

It is still largely a computer-to-computer solution though, so you'd need a "media extender" PC at the viewing end.

Cheers,

Tim.

Automated Home Lurker

Smile

I have used the VLC free media streamer for a number of months with
    great results.

I use the SVideo out from my Sky+ box into my SVideo in on my Hauppague PVR350 pci card. I then use DirectShow in VLC to stream in HTTP around my whole Network from a dedicated server (always on and streaming and IP address never changes).