Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: Water Controls

  1. #21
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Don't know if this is possible with the Idratek system.
    "using quad-button module, might have one button for hand-wash, another for a cup, another for a bucket ... or whatever ... " But why not just have one button, to control the tap. One press gives you a cup, second press a bucket, third press for bath fill then 2 quick presses turns it off. Or have it similar to a dimming control. ie the longer you hold the button down the quicker the flow rate. Then once its at the correct flow you release the button and to stop press it again. You would possibly need some form of look up table, to do it that way.

  2. #22
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    yes ... thought of that, and maybe, though ...

    Idratek isn't so good at dealing with timed inputs - when I wanted it to distinguish between short & long presses, it seemed it couldn't help ... maybe that's out of date ... but I think it;s OK with multiple presses - wonder if there's an issue with how quick ?

    another use we had for the four-button module, was as a kitchen timer ... one button for China-tea, another for Ceylon', another for ... etc ... and maybe one button for one minute, another for five, another for fifteen, etc, pressing then in combination according to how long;s required ... and with different tones, over the MFP, in response to each setting, which would be used again when the alarm sounded ... or something like that ... all via a user-macro ...

  3. #23
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Firstly I'd say that the way it would probably be done is at the Reflex level by which I mean a feature probably added to existing firmware on a suitable I/O module which would generate a Reflex event (which may directly drive an onboard output eg. relay) after a user defined number of pulses (perhaps internally linearised using rate estimation). So either Cortex or other modules could just directly request a certain volume to be delivered.

    I think its unlikely that the same tap would be used for filling cups as well as baths but perhaps cup, kettle, sink full might be a possible scenario for a kitchen sink tap. Anyhow the point I understand is that different volumes may be required from one outlet. I suppose combinations of short/long/multiple presses could be a way to do it or alternatively there is the existing menuing mechanism (ie. button combinations). Presently only the SLD module has short/long button press features - for one reason or another we have not been too keen on this methodology where other options exist, but its possible to add elsewhere in time.

    I'm not too sure about controlling flow rate with these on/off valves. I don't know what the dynamics would be like in practice - probably just get a pulsing effect and the water hammering may not be too good for the plumbing.

    Karam
    IDRATEK LTD

  4. #24
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    sounds good !

    >flow-rate ...

    for us, anyway, flow-rate adjustment would not be required ... one of the problems with ordinary taps is that they can be & need to be adjusted for flow-rate ... using them would be much quicker if they didn't ! Ditto temperature ... ... whenever they're turned-on, the water is always too hot or too cold, too fast & splashing or too slow, and up/down lever taps are an especial pain ! Our approach has been to have separate basins for hand-washing (eg: in the kitchen & utility room), so that probably helps in our case - ie: one rate & temperature would be fine, and if we wanted something else, we'd have two taps !

    with solenoid valves, water-hammer might be a problem, but SFAIK they're used on washing machines & diswashers without that being a problem ... so hopefully would be OK ... could always add something (a small accumulator, or whatever they're called in the plumbing world) to the the plumbing to cure it, if it did occur ...

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    in a month or two, as soon as I've finished plastering & plastering, we'll be wanting to move on this ... it's been a while since the last post, so I thought I would prod the forum, in case anyone had moved on, maybe even tried some valves ?

  6. #26
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    picking up on Paul's request [in the Sub-Meter Electricity Monitoring thread] for some way of having water flow measurement, too ... how about :

    http://www.hydralectric.com/category/7-Water+Controls/

    which includes :

    http://www.hydralectric.com/product/...978-Flow+Meter

    as well as the metered valve that came up before, earlier in the thread:

    http://www.hydralectric.com/product/...ith+Flow+Meter

    both of which, I would imagine, would work with the Idratek pulse-counting capable modules ...

    plus some water level detection devices :

    http://www.hydralectric.com/product/...ressure+Switch

    http://www.hydralectric.com/product/...ressure+Switch


    in addition, at :

    http://www.hydralectric.com/category/5-Solenoid+Valves/

    there are some straight valves - 1,2,3, & 4 port - that might be handy, too


    not sure of prices, haven't approached them yet ... when I looked at household appliance spare parts websites, there was a wide range for this sort of thing, mostly not encouraging (!) ... but I also found this - more limited range, but look OK & prices seem better :

    http://www.floparts.co.uk/plastic_inlet.htm


    they also do an interesting float switch, which could be handy :

    http://www.floparts.co.uk/level_switches_miniature.htm


    HTH someone ... we're busy researching & designing our plumbing & heating system at the moment, so these things are coming to light !
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 2nd February 2009 at 05:02 PM. Reason: mix-up

  7. #27
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    Some more water meters with pulse output :

    http://www.smartpowershop.co.uk/depa..._water_meters/

    And a gas meter with pulse output :

    http://www.smartpowershop.co.uk/depa...am_gas_meters/


    NB: see also the Sub-Meter Electricity Monitoring thread for electric meters with pulsed output ...


    of course, whether any of these meters are worth the expense rather depends on the savings they can engender !

  8. #28
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Chris,

    Nice find I'll have to have a more detailed look at the datasheets.

    I was looking around SmartPowerShop last week but by first impression was that they were significantly more expensive than other suppliers (please see follow-up post for qualification, http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...&postcount=30). Although this may have just been first impressions and not like for like comparison

    Paul
    Last edited by Paul_B; 5th February 2009 at 01:23 PM. Reason: Qualified statement on expense comparison

  9. #29
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Smartpowershop

    Hi,

    I was browsing this and thought i would just add a quick post. I work for smartpowershop and just wanted to say that we try and keep our prices competative.
    However if we are way off the mark with some prices then please let me know what they are and we will take another look at them, our aim is to provide a good platform for users to buy products and therefore if our products are too highly priced then we will happily review them.

    We can also be pretty flexible with pricing and try to do discounts for quantity as well as for personalised quotes.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this. Also any feedback you might have on Smartpowershop would be very welcome since we are look at redesigning the site to make it more user friendly

    Thanks,

    Oliver
    Smartpowershop

  10. #30
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Oliver,

    Okay I should qualify my previous perception. I was looking for a 1-DIN power meter.

    On SmartPowerShop you offer a "Memo 3 Direct Connect KWh Meter" at 50.23 incs VAT

    On MeterManager they offer a ADM1TE at 28.75 incs VAT

    What I need to point out this is not a direct comparison because they are different products. The Memo 3 is rated at 36A and 10Wh pulse whilst the ADM1TE is rated at 30A and 0.5Wh pulse.

    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •