• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jonnieboy
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2008

AD10 "All lights on"?

Hello.

I have been using x10 at home now for around 6 years.

I recently installed a system in my parent's outbuildings for switching lights/floodlights and a few universal modules for operating the automatic gates and garage door opener etc. I also used a "Maplin" 3-channel remote together with a powerflash module to allow remote operation of the door, gates and to trigger a macro which switches on the floodlights for 2 minutes running on a CM11.

I originally purchased three wall switches from x10-hk (all of them are two-load appliance modules). Although they all worked great, they felt a bit "plasticky" and, of more of an "issue", they metal faces under the plastic switch-fronts showed some charge - enough to light a neon electricians screwdriver - although not enough to shock. Earthing the mounting screw of the module got rid of this problem but I couldn't shake the "cheap" feeling.

I have replaced these switches with MK Grid metalclad units and have installed two MK consumer units, with a total of six AD10s.

The problem is the length of time it takes to switch these lights on using a macro - the original switches could be programmed to respond to "all lights on" - perfect since they were attached to fluorescent lights. Obviously, the AD10 lacks this ability.

Is there any obvious change I could make to the AD10 board to allow it to respond to the ALOn signal? I'm guessing not - and I should have purchased LD10s instead and tried to remove the triac and related components and installed a relay instead.

Any thoughts? Any alternatives?
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Why not use a macro. Call it say B1 and have it turn on or off your lights. So when you press B1 ON it turns on all the lights and B1 OFF would turn them OFF.
    Last edited by toscal; 19 February 2008, 12:18 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.