Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cat5 Home intercom systems in the UK ?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Cat5 Home intercom systems in the UK ?

    Hi does anyone know of a system along the lines of this http://www.home-technology-store.com...593WH-KIT.aspx thats available in Europe/UK. Ive been googling and cant find anything but i am hung over right now so i may just be being rubbish.

    Matt


    OH found this http://www.ukhomeideas.co.uk/ideas/h...-speaking-tube but thats pure amusement ratehr than partical for me
    Last edited by flipside; 14th March 2008 at 10:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    There is the Barix system www.barix.com and available at www.laser.com in the uk
    I will check later this week as one of the audio system we install may be able to be connected via CAT 5 cable but will need to check, and this has intercom functions.
    ONQ is made by Legrand so it might be worth talking to your local Legrand dealer. www.onqlegrand.com/home/home.php

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Cheers Toscal,

    I have emailed both the legrand US and UK arms and awaiting the response i still find it odd that there seems to be nothing like this in the UK but then i guess we are a bit behind the US .

    Matt

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flipside View Post
    ... i guess we are a bit behind the US .

    Matt

    Maybe because our houses are (generally) smaller there's less need for an intercom?
    My mate once joked that "whole house audio" meant turning the amplifier up a couple of notches...

    Cheers,

    Tim.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I think thats to do with the thinness of our walls rather than size , but yes until i had the loft conversion i would have agreed .

    Cheers

    Matt

    Quote Originally Posted by TimH View Post
    Maybe because our houses are (generally) smaller there's less need for an intercom?
    My mate once joked that "whole house audio" meant turning the amplifier up a couple of notches...

    Cheers,

    Tim.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    Asterisk (http://www.asterisk.org/), of course, is the other means to accomplish this (or indeed any other PBX). Even though Asterisk is free, I bet you're looking at more than $520 (+shipping & import duty) once you start including IP phones. Very flexible though, and there are hooks into/out of Asterisk for xAP etc. so it is a viable "HA" application

    But perhaps your $520 with Asterisk buys you more functionality than just a plain intercom?

    At a pinch, a set of DECT phones allow you make calls between handsets thus giving *some* intercom features.

    HTH,

    Tim.

  7. #7
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    Came across this, http://www.cepro.com/article/channel...ouse_intercom/
    Are you looking for a system that uses cat5 cable or an actual IP based intercom system?
    http://www.ipenabled.com/daintercoms.html

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    And another one... Idratek's MFP-002, http://www.idratek.com/HWInput.htm#MFP002

    Probably best to ask any detailed questions over on the Idratek forum.

    Cheers,

    Tim.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Cheers guys good hunting, ive had a reply from legrand and they don't sell in Europe and id need a power convector so any ideas happily received, and Toscal as long as it uses Cat5 im happy.

    Matt

  10. #10
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    Just been looking at the wiring specs for one of the systems we install. The audio and signal cables require a cable of .25 square mm (AWG 23) and the power requires a cable of 1 square mm (AWG 17). The AWG sizes are approximate and are the closest. AWG 23 is actually 0.258 like wise AWG 17 1.04.
    In a CAT5 cable the wires are AWG24 which is 0.205 square mm. So as long as the cable runs are less than 40m you could probably get away with it.The power is going to be the problem. You could I suppose have 2 CAT5 cables one for 0v and the other for the +16V supply. The other way to do this is to have local power supplies for each intercom unit, not ideal especially if you can't hide them. Then you will need a CAT5 cable running from one intercom location to another, this is for the Zone call.
    The units themselves are quite small. 45mm square and 27mm thick. The speakers are of a similar size or you can get ceiling mounted ones. The modules can be used side by side so making a rather neat looking unit, either mounted in wall, desktop or surface mounts. A basic mono system uses 3 modules, 1 speaker module, 1 amplifier unit and 1 zone module. The zone module can call 5 other zones, either individually or all together.
    While it could be done using CAT5 I think its going to get messy very quickly. I wouldn't recommend it, but then again I do like a challenge. I could email you a wiring diagram for a 2 zone system so you could get a basic idea if you like.
    Another option would be a mini pabx system I'm sure you could pick these up from ebay quite cheaply.
    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by toscal; 17th March 2008 at 11:00 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •