Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Invert DIO PIR input levels?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    56

    Default Invert DIO PIR input levels?

    Hello all - I spent a day over easter playing with my system, hence my renewed activity on the forum..

    I have installed 3 GJD Opal PIR's for controlling my exterior lighting. Only problem is that the output for the passive is designed for the GJD control panel, which responds to an open collector negative going pulse from the PIR - exactly the opposite of Cortex's DIO requirement (held negative, going o/c on detect and pulled high to 3.3v).

    Is there any way to alter a DIO PIR object's input so it responds to a -ve pulse rather than held -ve, going high on alarm? I did have a play with logic functions but couldn't get a logic output to drive a virtual PIR.

    I could just buy some low power relays to create the condition required by the software, but I hope I can find a more elegant software based solution.

    I have tried using a proximity input but it appears that they can only be associated with a door and can't directly infer presence to a room.

    Any suggestions welcome.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    826

    Default

    Hmm, a negative going pulse upon detect is fairly standard. Please wait until we look into this.

    Karam

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Thanks Karam - I know for a standard (non Idratek) PIR it's usually a n/c arrangement, but an 'invert switch state' checkbox on the PIR behavior menu would be ideal...

    John
    --------------------------

    www.nodeone.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    826

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Winter View Post
    Thanks Karam - I know for a standard (non Idratek) PIR it's usually a n/c arrangement, but an 'invert switch state' checkbox on the PIR behavior menu would be ideal...

    John
    Apologies, my own thinking was inverted there. Should avoid late night replies .. 8-}. You are of course correct in saying it tends to be n/c, so as you say requires invert in Cortex or firmware.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Winter View Post

    Is there any way to alter a DIO PIR object's input so it responds to a -ve pulse rather than held -ve, going high on alarm? ......

    A Cortex update is available to 23.1.0.

    This version allows the PIR object associated with the switch input of a module to be inverted. Therefore registers motion on logic high rather than low.
    See PIR behaviour menu.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Tested this afternoon with 3 PIR's connected to a QRI - and working great! Thanks Karam and Viv for a speedy update!

    Cheers
    --------------------------

    www.nodeone.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •