• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Davearia
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Apr 2008

.NET programming for CM11A

Hi,

Firstly I would like to say a quick hello to everyone at this forum. I have been interested in home automation for quite a few years now, but I suppose like everyone I have been on a tight budget where time and money are concerned.

I work as a software developer so I am lucky in that I have a good level of knowledge where coding is concerned. Until last December I have never applied this to home automation. I bought a Harmony bundle from simply automate for a mess around. It came with a CM11A controller, 2 light dimmers and a device controller. I installed the Harmony OS and had a play with it. I managed to use Harmony to assign addresses to my X10 devices and from there turned them on and off via Harmony the UI.

Although it was fun I really want to write my own code to a similar thing without the limitations of things such as Harmony. I managed to write a small application to dim lights etc which worked well. But I did need Harmony in as much as setting the X10 addresses in the first place.

What I would like to be able to do is write some code that sets X10 addresses from a friendly user interface if you know what I mean?

Any help with this matter would be most appreciated.

Thanks, Dave.
  • CBusShop
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Apr 2004