• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • A_Saint
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Apr 2008

What can the wall switch dim?

Hi all.

First post. I'm new to home automation. I have tinkered with an X-10 start up kit for a few years, but I am now keen to expand to automate most of my lighting and some appliances. Z-Wave seems the better technology so I will be transferring over from x-10. However I do have one concern (which may also apply to X-10?)

How does the Z-wave wall switch (http://www.letsautomate.com/12575.cf...D09F56DEC239B5) dim the light. I know some x10 devices rapidly switch on and off rather than use a variable resistor, making them unsuitable for Halogen bulbs. Lets automate states incandescent bulbs only so it sounds like it could be the same problem, has any one tried?
    I could switch from Halogens to incandescents but I can foresee another problem. It looks as if the government may soon ban incandescent bulbs in an energy saving/environmental move. Allowing only forecent energy saving bulbs. There are dimable energy savers on the market but again will they work with this switch? I would like to buy a number of these for my house and would not like to be stuck with dimmers that wont dim any available bulbs. Alternatively I would happy to settle for a standard switch (not a dimmer) but there does not appear to be a z-wave one on the market?
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Looking at the details on lets automate. This device has no neutral, so it probably gets the return path via the bulb. Which is why it says incandescent bulbs.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• A_Saint
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Apr 2008

Thanks for your reply, toscal.