Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 64

Thread: Electrisave/Owl Protocol + PC Interface

  1. #11
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    28

    Smile

    Just got a Current cost and I'm getting getting values into Homeseer via a rather shoddy script :-) . Lot's of discussion about it here: http://forums.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=129148

    Description of the XML output here: http://cumbers.wordpress.com/2008/05...st-xml-output/

    Hope this helps
    Kevin.

  2. #12
    Automated Home Guru jpdw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Is the 33 one from ecogadget/southernelec the same version sold direct by currentcost on ebay?

    I would prefer to get the newer one with historic data but would prefer still to pay 33 for it not 45 :-)

  3. #13
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Just got this reply from Current cost about their meters:
    "The units are available for sale on EBay. The company has been formed to
    design and produce units aimed at the utility companies to be given free of
    charge to their consumers and to that end we have now sold in excess of
    500,000 units. Other than EBay we do not sell direct to consumers,
    distributors or to retailers........ In order to download raw data it is necessary to purchase one of our cables, again through EBay. We do not have our own software available at present to interpret this information although if one Googles Dale Lane Current Cost this can be very useful."

    Hope this helps.

    Here is the Dale Lane link http://dalelane.co.uk/blog/?p=281
    Last edited by toscal; 30th October 2008 at 01:03 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  4. #14
    Automated Home Guru jpdw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    168

    Default

    I just got my Current Cost through today.

    So far it's great fun. The wife is already turning on different / fewer lights!

    I bought mine via SSE so not sure yet which version I've got... I need to get (/make) a serial cable and see what I'm getting out of it....
    Jon

  5. #15
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    You may be interested in this blog about how to chart the info from the current cost
    http://rooreynolds.com/2008/05/09/cu...-charting-fun/
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  6. #16
    Automated Home Sr Member Quinten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    85

    Default

    To see which version you have:

    http://currentcost.com/support-4.shtml

  7. #17
    Automated Home Sr Member wywywywy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Just noticed that it hasn't been mentioned, the one that Eco Gadget Shop sells is also the new version. So no need to pay 45 on eBay

    https://www.ecogadgetshop.co.uk/Prod...ST)&Category=1

  8. #18
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    see there's a replacement for the Current Cost on its way :

    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Current-Cos...742.m154.l1264

  9. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Just got this reply from Current cost about their meters:
    "The units are available for sale on EBay. The company has been formed to
    design and produce units aimed at the utility companies to be given free of
    charge to their consumers and to that end we have now sold in excess of
    500,000 units. Other than EBay we do not sell direct to consumers,
    distributors or to retailers........ In order to download raw data it is necessary to purchase one of our cables, again through EBay. We do not have our own software available at present to interpret this information although if one Googles Dale Lane Current Cost this can be very useful."

    Hope this helps.

    Here is the Dale Lane link http://dalelane.co.uk/blog/?p=281
    I'm not sure that app (that you've linked to) is the one they probably meant.

    I ditched that old code back in August (as described here), starting again on a new (and IMHO) better app that is still under development. More details about the new app can be found at http://code.google.com/p/currentcostgui/

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    see there's a replacement for the Current Cost on its way :

    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Current-Cos...742.m154.l1264
    I've been having a play with the new model - if you'd like to find out more about it, I've made some comments here:
    http://dalelane.co.uk/blog/?p=389

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •