Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: OSX Control Software?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member dsample's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    13

    Question OSX Control Software?

    I hope some people on these forums are using Macs as their control centre. What software is the best? It seems there aren't too many options, and the two commercial ones I've seen look pretty old.

    Indigo looks like the best so far, but I'd like to try something with xPL as it's cross-platform and should run nicely from my Linux server too.

    As long as there's an open API of some sort I can create my own web-based UIs for it, I just want the basis to work with.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    This came up recently on the mailing list - here's the software suggestions that were posted there:

    http://www.shed.com/
    http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/indigo/
    http://www.protowrxs.com/HA/
    http://www.machomestore.com/catalog/
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_ck11a_mac.htm

    HTH,

    Tim.

  3. #3
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,007

    Default

    Don't know if its available for the MAC. but if you can run TCL then you could use a Homevision controller and the HVXL control program.
    http://hv.tclcode.com/ for the HVXL
    www.csi3.com for the Homevision
    http://www.tcl.tk/ for info on TCL
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    not sure the Mac world is really up to it - yet, especially since X-10 type approaches are probably best avoided (reliability) ... depends how much HA you'll be wanting, but one option might be to get an end-of-line Windows PC & manage it via Remote Desktop from the Mac's - dedicating it to the HA could make it reliable (Windows might be a nightmare otherwise), and effective (no conflicts) ... even better might be to use a dedicated low power MiniITX PC for this (we're all Mac, and that's what we're doing) ... for the HA, itself, we've gone with Idratek, which would be well worth a look, 'though (if) in Oz you'll likely be thinking of C-Bus - be sure to compare the two !!

    Another option, might be to use a dedicated PC, as above, and manage it from your iPhone - via Jaadu, for example - see the App Store !
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 23rd September 2008 at 10:03 PM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    did you see :

    http://www.savantav.com/products.php...nitem=2&item=3

    some background at :

    http://odeo.com/episodes/23359583-Ge...tion-by-Savant

    may not all that affordable, but might be worth a look ... ???
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 28th September 2008 at 01:32 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •