• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rox
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Sep 2004

So Confused !! Theres just So much out there !!! HELP PLEASE

Hi Everyone - Im a Newbie and I got this Automation BUG !!

But I'm confused.

This is what I'm looking for 8O OR to do !!

---------------------------------------

1)
    Lighting

....I have been looking into Lutron BUT its damn expensive - I have seen the Grafix eye solution and Lutron Homeworks - Whats the difference - anyone got a quick answer :-(

I have seen the Rako system - its RF based and looks good - anyone got it used it ?

I have also read about the ULTI "Clipsal Concept" - It looks good BUT has anyone got that - used it ?

ANY RECOMMENDATIONS ??

2)
    IR Repeaters

I want to control all my AV/Lights etc - I think I need a IR Learning remote, and a IR repeater (Any good Repeater recommendations ?)
    I have a Tablet PC, Does anyone have any recommendations in terms of SOFTWARE ? and can I use it to control all the AV/Lights etc etc + do I need a USB IR Extender as the IrDA port maybe weak on the Tablet PC ???

3)
    MULTI-ROOM Music

I got a PC with loadsa MP3s upstairs - can I pipe this to anyroom (Please note I have just cabled my house with Cat 6) - so I can access the music anywhere BUT do I need a seperate AMP in each room :-o EXPENSIVE - or is there a cheaper way I can do this - Maybe using Windows XP Media Centre and a Remote control to select music/tv/vids/pics/Internet ?

4)
    FINALLY

Any Ideas or Pointers will be great. I really need some help as there are so many things you can do !!! I just need some focusing and ADVICE !!

Many Thanks ALL
  • Darren
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Oct 2004

Re: So Confused !! Theres just So much out there !!! HELP PL

Regarding the music you might consider a Philips Streamium MC-i250 http://www.streamium.com/products/mc-i250/