Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: EnOcean

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default EnOcean

    Has anyone here looked at using EnOcean? - a bit like ZigBee, just you don't need batteries in the transmitters.

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,007

    Default

    Are you anything to do with the UK distributor for EnOcean TDC by any chance. Its just that your user name phooto is similar to one used to answer a thread on the Homevision forum about EnOcean http://groups.yahoo.com/group/homevi.../message/10516.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yes. Just I can't understand why this technology has been passed by by so many of these forums. It's a lot more accessible and widespread than ZigBee as well as being fully interoperable.

    I obviously use a lot of it at my home, with a remote in the car to operate lights when I come home, and avoiding extra wiring for switched circuits and control.

    I've got a USB interface working and had started on some code, but I quite like the idea of adding it into something like MisterHouse to give it a web interface, or maybe use a web server on a WiFi module, and avoid running a PC altogether.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    >fully interoperable ...

    must say the system looked good when I saw it at one of the exhibitions, and when I then read-up on it ... but it struck me as rather like EIB/ Knx, and that made me think it wouldn't be unaffortdable & accessible to enthusiasts, as on this forum ! But, if that's not the case, and it could work with Idratek, then do please say !! THere could be many situations where adding EnOcean modules to an Idratek set-up would be very useful ...

    I'm quite tempted by Alertme, for security, even better if it could be linked to Idratek - but all those batteries !!!
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 8th November 2008 at 06:11 PM.

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,007

    Default

    I think what has put a lot of people off, is there seems to be no proper PC interface and controlling software. It all seems to be very homebrew to get it to work with a PC. If there was a decent software program or a plugin for say Homeseer. And a decent software development kit for the die hard homebrew enthusiasts. I think this would help in getting more people interested.
    Also the cost factor is another, I've seen the price for a switch and a module range from about 75 to over 100 pounds. Then if you need to switch the same module from another location then a switch on its own is about 65 pounds. Admittedly you don't need to wire in the switches, and there are no battery costs.
    To get more people interested I think you need to put together a decent starter kit of say a PC interface, control software, 1 mains module, a switch and possibly a sensor of some sort. Sell this for about 150 to 200 pounds then you may get more people interested.
    Maybe do an article for Automated Home on living with EnOcean.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    It's nothing like EIB/KNX, but there are interfaces to it available.

    As for PC interfaces, I have published a way of connecting one of the modules to a USB port, and some software to read and write data to the port. See http://www.tdc.co.uk/index.php?key=tt_enocean for examples. As for HomeSeer, I prefer platform independent solutions such as MisterHouse (although I have not tried either of them yet), as personally I don't have a PC, and forcing choice to one platform is a bit limiting.

    I'm just working on a webshop, and certainly a kit as you mention can be put together, as can some lower cost switch / receiver combinations. I should get those done this week.
    Last edited by Phooto; 9th November 2008 at 09:08 AM.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    >nothing like EIB/KNX ...

    I meant in their approach to Customers ... rather than technically ...

    >PC interfaces ...

    PC including Mac ! ... but, how about iPhone / iPod Touch, too, the SDK for which should make them quite accessible ... ?
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 9th November 2008 at 09:57 AM.

  8. #8
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,007

    Default

    Also most Home automation companies or websites selling it, give quite in depth descriptions on how their products work and what can be done with it. And some even quote real world examples etc. If the don't they usually point you in the right direction. This appears to be missing on either your site and the EnOcean shop site.
    Have a look at the competition. See how they display their information and see how you can do similar and improve on it.
    IF you prefer platform independent solutions then have a look at Homevision and the HVxl program. This can run on Linux and PC and I guess any machine that will run TCL.
    Homevison www.csi3.com
    HVXL http://hv.tclcode.com/
    Last edited by toscal; 9th November 2008 at 07:40 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    All the information is there, all the packet information is released. Look especially at the user manual for the TCM 120 - the transceiver - it's all in there. That's the device I used to make the USB interface, which can receive data from sensors, and control other devices such as mains receivers controlling appliances and lights.

    If anyone's going to Electronica this week, EnOcean have a booth there, launching some new products - even lower power, embedded processing and so on.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    As for HomeVision - just took a look at it, and it's not exactly wireless! One of the main features of EnOcean is that control wiring is not needed at all - and the sensors and switches are wireless and don't need a battery or power supply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •