Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Door bell/intercom

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member Simon George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Thaxted, Es***
    Posts
    28

    Default Door bell/intercom

    Hi,

    I would like to install a door bell/intercom that will interface to the new DFP-H02 panel (or indeed the existing MFP panels) but without installing an external panel by the outside door. I think an external DFP/MFP would be overkill and also confuse callers with multiple buttons (which one to press to ring the door bell ?!) I'm really just looking for a device with a push button and microphone/speaker that I can interface to Idranet and thereby talk to people at the door.

    Has anyone done this sort of thing or can suggest a solution (preferably without bodging an MFP to do the job) ? There are plenty of bell/intercom devices available, just not sure how they can be integrated with Idratek.

    Thanks in advance,

    Simon

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member Simon George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Thaxted, Es***
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Just to clarify the above - it's easy to integrate the bell into Idratek (via a digital input and Cortex connections), it's interfacing the intercom to the Idranet audio bus I'm unsure of...

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja Andrew Millne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    268

    Default

    This feature has been requested before and I think a number of people are looking for a solution to this (including myself).

    The previous thread is located here to get you up to speed.

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...ead.php?t=1918

    Unfortunately, Gumby's suggestion in post #6 is probably the closest anybody has come.

    Just out of interest how many Idratek users would use an external module specifically with say 1-4 buttons, a microphone and speakers?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member Simon George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Thaxted, Es***
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thanks for the reply Andrew and for pointing out that thread.

    I think something as simple as a small module (or even PCB/whatever) that does Idranet audio bus -> microphone input/speaker output (whether jacks or PCB contacts) would do just fine. This could then integrate with whatever 3rd party intercom you chose. It may also have uses outside my door scenario.

    A question for Karam/Viv is then how easy it would be to bridge the Idranet audio bus to external microphone/speakers - I assume it's not as simple as just connecting the wires together but that some logic/protocol is involved ?

    Thanks again

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member KirasHome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    37

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Millne View Post
    Just out of interest how many Idratek users would use an external module specifically with say 1-4 buttons, a microphone and speakers?
    Yep - I'd be interested. Jamie

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default

    me, too ... 'though I'd really like it to have a camera, as well ... snap-shot capability rather than video would be fine, with the picture being taken when visitor presses the button for attention (something like Apple's Photo Booth might offer a good approach) ...

    NB: if Idratek could be integrated with multiple iPhone & iPod Touch devices, via Wi-Fi,, the door-bell function might be even better - wherever you were, within & around the house, you could deal with it !
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 11th November 2008 at 07:39 PM.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member Simon George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Thaxted, Es***
    Posts
    28

    Default

    I too would like a standalone external solution, but with the (hopefully !) imminent DFP launch, I'm looking for a quick-and-dirty solution to get some sort of door intercom working. I'd rather not wait 6+ months for a fully working module to be developed/tested and released

  8. #8
    Moderator Gumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    437

    Talking

    6 months ...
    ----------------------
    www.gumbrell.com

  9. #9
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I have already done this - sort of...

    I have fabricated a doorbell/microphone/camera for my front door (looks quite nice if I say so myself), and have also succesfully hung a small audio amp off of the 12v and audio lines of the idratek network, to provide an audio output inside the house for the aforementioned doorbell. I have no MFP's that would normally provide this audio output.
    The amp and speaker I have chosen would theoretically be small enough to fit into the remaining space in a 35mm cavity pattress populated with a PLH or similar.

    Only downside is the slight interference in the form of high pitched beeps and squeaks from the bus itself, I imagine usually suppressed by internal switching in an MFP.

    As a side note, I think if all you need is global annunciation, then multiple small amps and speakers mounted behind existing PLH's set at a low enough volume to minimise the interference would be sufficient.

    I really should update my blog with all this.... Maybe over xmas when I have time..

    John
    --------------------------

    www.nodeone.blogspot.com

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default

    >update my blog ...

    yes please ... look forward to that !

    BTW, 'thought Bticino have something good on door-'phones :

    http://www.bticino.co.uk/site_GB/jsp/home/home.do

    probably expensive, though ...

    wish Idratek would do something to help this - ie: a screen module (still images would be fine, doesn't have to be video) or a link to photo-screens, & a camera interface ... even better if linked into iPhone or iPod Touch ... which, in any case, I hope they're working on (big possibilities) ...
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 2nd December 2008 at 08:40 PM. Reason: typo's !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •