Page 23 of 23 FirstFirst ... 13181920212223
Results 221 to 226 of 226

Thread: HouseHeat system

  1. #221
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrLizard View Post
    I was curious as to how your kickspace heater solution is working out? Also, what model do you have?
    It is a "Myson Kickspace 600" and is working very well. It is controlled using a FHT80B Stat and actuator on a TRV. It works in conjunction with the boiler connect component.

  2. #222
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Evening everyone. I'm trying to finalise my decision on heating controllers for our renovation project.
    I'm pretty much set on the FS20 system and was planning to purchase from Conrad.
    However, because I'm still a little bit confused about exactly which components I need, I asked Conrad for some advice and they have recommended me the Homematic system. I didn't think this system would communicate with a boiler controller which is one of my requirements.

    Basically I am looking for improved control for 2 of our 3 heating zones. The UFH zone is fine and I don't think needs any improvement. This leaves an upstairs and downstairs zone.
    Upstairs there are 3 rooms and I would like to put actuators and thermostats into each room with the ability for a central controller and boiler control. I'm making an assumption that the boiler controlllers can be used to actually control a zone valve, which itself switches the boiler.

    Downstairs there are 10 rooms and I am going to need about 12 actuators and 8 thermostats. I would like a second controller and boiler controller.

    From what I've read, I need the actuators and thermostats to work bi directionally and I would ideally like the thermostats to show actual temp rather than target temp.

    Unfortunately, despite reading pretty much all of the product info for the various FS20 heating controllers on the Conrad site, I can't be sure which I need.

    So, I asked them the question and that's when they recommended Homematic to me.

    I would massively appreciate any advice, and ideally the specific parts that I need.

    Best wishes

    Steve

  3. #223
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi Guys

    I've been reading this thread with some interest! I have been looking at upgrading my central heating control as it currently has a mind of its own and is very expensive. I only moved in 6 months ago and there appears to be 2 settings...on and off!

    I quite like the look of the Housetech stuff which as far as I can tell is the same as the stuff that Conrad sells but Conrad sells for cheaper! I've been on the Conrad website this morning and I quite like the look of the Conrad MAX! heating stuff. Looks to be the same as the Househeat 2 rad controls. There also appears to be a very neat cube to control all of the stuff by PC. Has anyone got experience of these MAX! controls in particular?

    I would also like this to connect to the boiler - but I can't see if there is a boiler connect module with this particular range. Does anyone know whether the FHT 8W boiler relay can be used with the MAX! range?

    Sorry for the questions! I would appreciate any advice/feedback!

    Cheers

    Guy

  4. #224
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    As a specialist in designing heating systems with heatbanks it might be useful if I rocked the boat here a bit. The point of heatbanks is that they enable multiple heat input sources to be integrated. So for example inputs might be gas, wood stove, solar, ASHP etc. Outputs would be rads, floors, hot water for showers etc. Most of the posts here assume a need to activate a gas boiler whenever thermostats call for heating and if gas is all you have then that's perfectly appropriate. However with multiple sources the stats don't call the boiler at all; some other source might have already stored some energy in the tank and could be still supplying. So what is done is that the gas boiler is allowed to come on at suitable times and it checks the tank thermostat and only runs to top up to the set temp, if at all. The heating thermostats in rooms then just activate the circulation pump, for rads or floors, and the gas boiler only comes on if the timer allows and the tank thermostat allows. For example: A gravity connected wood stove is heating the tank and every now and then a programmable room thermostat runs the underfloor heating pump for half an hour to take some heat out of the tank... so a cheap/green energy source has been used and the gas never came on at all.

  5. #225
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    london
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guymartin View Post
    I quite like the look of the Housetech stuff which as far as I can tell is the same as the stuff that Conrad sells but Conrad sells for cheaper! I've been on the Conrad website this morning and I quite like the look of the Conrad MAX! heating stuff. Looks to be the same as the Househeat 2 rad controls. There also appears to be a very neat cube to control all of the stuff by PC. Has anyone got experience of these MAX! controls in particular?

    I would also like this to connect to the boiler - but I can't see if there is a boiler connect module with this particular range. Does anyone know whether the FHT 8W boiler relay can be used with the MAX! range?
    The Terrier i-temp range from Pegler Yorkshire looks suspiciously similar to the Conrad Max stuff too.

    I'm still (4 years later) looking for a range of individual radiator controls that I can integrate into my own system (which already does central boiler control via X10). All the systems I've found so far are very proprietary and locked in, and don't allow for external software control. Leaving a pc logged in to run their proprietary software so it can listen for keystrokes just doesn't cut it. Has anyone come across a range that offers e.g. a decent API or zwave interface with remote setpoint control (not just set-back) and doesn't cost silly money? I keep coming back to the danfoss range, at least they publish their zwave protocol, but they're 50 a pop.

  6. #226
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    london
    Posts
    13

    Default

    The MAX system is made by eQ-3.
    Some people at domoticaforum are working out what the protocol is for the MAX! Cube LAN Gateway, so it might be suitable for my purposes. I've missed this winter though :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •