Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Reccomend me a good/cheap in wall PC please

  1. #21
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Did you write the apps yourself. And are you willing to share.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  2. #22
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Did you write the apps yourself. And are you willing to share.
    App was written in VS2005. My back end is SQL Server - with tables for temp readings, movies etc, so it is fairly bespoke. Its also an ongoing development (and likley to be so for the next month or so as I tweak it here and there (putting in a better on-screen keyboard today for searching than the bog-standard Microsoft tosh)), but happy to post the database and source code if anybody wants to use any of it for their own projects (even if its just for the graphics, or any other parts).

    Most of the bits in it are a actually bolt-on found on this web site. I.e,

    Power readings is currentCost, with a VB service which picks up the current cost readings, and writes them to the SQL database. The VB app also picks up sky news headlines once an hour, and the weather from yahoo once every 6 hours.

    Temperature is similar - using a Quasar Electronics PCB (http://www.quasarelectronics.com/314...ata-logger.htm) again captured to SQL Server database.

    But as I say, happy to share the database and the source code. Give me a week to complete more of it (as I say, keyboard, a movie search function, slightly better graphs) and I will put it somewhere so anybody can access.

  3. #23
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    When you say keyboard do you mean an one screen one as I think windows CE comes with one already built in.
    If its not there here are a few links to help you.
    http://www.chessware.ch/virtual-keyb...FRaA3godaiJv9g

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa455228.aspx

    Good luck with the project.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  4. #24
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Windows CE does indeed come with a keyboard - and its the most awful thing that you can imagine - in fact, you can imagine it becuase its the same awful keyboard as in your Windows mobile phone. The links you suggest are for V-Keyboards, but they only run on XP and Vista - so I am quickly developing a pop-up one for CE.

    Thanks anyway.

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    503

    Default

    Jaffab,

    Nice photos
    Your self-rolled app looks pretty good too!

    Cheers,

    Tim.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •