Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How often does Cortex crash / freeze - never, maybe, or ... ?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default How often does Cortex crash / freeze - never, maybe, or ... ?

    If it never crashes, then great ... if just occasionally, then I guess it will happen when people are out / away / asleep ... in which case some sort of auto' restart might be a good idea ... on-condition, once a week / Sunday 2am, whatever ... does restart need manual intervention and, if-so, can this be done remotely (via mobile 'phone / e-mail / link) ?? Given that many seem to be putting the PC hosting Cortex in the roof or garage, this can't often be a problem ... on the other hand, the current cold spell is encouraging me to think cautiously (frozen pipes, jpdw OH type issues, etc) ...

    any thoughts / experience ??
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 7th January 2009 at 03:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member n07tv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Chris,

    I've been running in for 5 years on a dedicted laptop (which acts a printer server and nothing else), Win XP Home and never crashed once.

    3 electricity supply cuts in that period and it recovers fine.

    Had a couple of issues once when the laptop had to be re-started due to a VNC lock-up but then that had nothing to do with Cortex. I think there is a pretty good recovery mechanism in it and a little monitor called Defribrilator that keeps an eye on it.

    Works for me.
    N.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default

    N -
    that's good news, especially the power-cut robustness ...

    ie: no need to worry !

    Chris

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Cortex has never crashed on me either. The server is running Windows 2003 on a Mini-ITX platform and has been pretty solid (it also running as a domain controller, Exchange server and SQL server).

    If every there is a problem it is during startup and that is normally because the Remote Desktop session has screwed up the sound card.

    As n07tv stated Defribilator takes care of lockups and will reboot the server (never has for me). You can also setup a "watchdog" so that if the timer is not reset by Cortex the IdraNET resets to Reflex functionallity

  5. #5
    Automated Home Guru jpdw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Although I had one mystery stoppage (I think I mentioned it somewhere) when I logged onto the PC, Cortex itself was running and I didn't get the chance to investigate further. I later realised that "automatic [network start] on program start" was disabled [**]. If this had been enabled, chances are I'd never know there had been an issue.


    [**] at the time, I assumed this was as a result of my messing... but I just checked my 24.0.0 install and it's disabled again... maybe an Idratek default ?
    Jon

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jpdw View Post
    [**] at the time, I assumed this was as a result of my messing... but I just checked my 24.0.0 install and it's disabled again... maybe an Idratek default ?
    Not to my knowledge (yet). Can you double check: select the auto start option, save the database, stop network and exit Cortex then re-launch and look to see if the option remains selected

  7. #7
    Moderator Gumby's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Posts
    437

    Default

    I stress-tested auto restart to death without realising it :-)

    I had a dodgy memory stick and regular crashes. I didn't realise until I set up emails to report Cortex restarts and discovered what was going on. With a clean machine restarts can be very quick.

    Left alone (on a decent platform) Cortex is very stable.
    ----------------------
    www.gumbrell.com

  8. #8
    Automated Home Guru jpdw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karam View Post
    Not to my knowledge (yet). Can you double check: select the auto start option, save the database, stop network and exit Cortex then re-launch and look to see if the option remains selected
    No doubt (in my mind) that autostart works a treat. My thought was whether this option is turned off in a default installation. Since I enabled it, I have upgraded from 23.x.x to 24.x.x which required a de-install -- so perhaps putting this back to default? either that or, as I suggested, maybe I turned it off again for "good reason" but forgot.
    Jon

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member KirasHome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    37

    Thumbs up

    Like Paul B, I run it on a mini-itx board with Windows 2003 Server. The box itself runs Cortex, runs SquezzeServer and acts as a file server. I've found it to be extremely solid. Can't remember it ever crashing. Prior to the installation of the UPS it survived various power outages and restarted it's self automatically. Post UPS installation the only restarts have been user initiated for upgrades etc.

    Jamie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •