• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • franktate
    Automated Home Sr Member
    • Feb 2007

No control!

I have been messing round with X10 for a couple of years now and overall have had poor experiences. This may be because I don't iron out the problems when they surface.

So here goes: May be someone can help with my long term problems and show my wife that it wasn't all a big waste of time / effort / money. lol

I have a SC9000 security control center. I have the KR21 remotes which alarm and disarm the system perfectly. However the lights on and lights off do not operate A1 and A2 like they should.
    I have tried to change the A1 and A2 to D1 and D2 and other codes, but all with no luck. So I gave up.

All of the lights (8 in total) work perfectly most of the time. The ones operated by the MS13 sensors are unreliable and don't switch on every time. Again this is a long term problem which I have just shelved, putting it down to the location of the MS13.

I got a second (probably 12th) wind after Christmas and decided to buy some plug in units to operate some lamps. (Energy saving bulbs - so using appliance plug ins). I plugged the first unit in last night next to the TM13 and programmed the unit to L9. Perfect. I then went to the other end of the same room, plugged in the unit and sent the X10 command but nothing happened.
    Thinking I had a dodgy plug unit I swapped it for another and tried again - no luck.
    I then took the unit I had already programmed but that didn't operate in that socket either!
    I changed to the other socket in the double gang and still no luck.
    I took the same unit into the kitchen and it worked.

It was a little late last night so I decided to either smash all the units with a hammer or go to bed. As the hammer was somewhere in the garage I decided on bed.

Laying in bed for a few hours I have logically narrowed it down to a few problems. Can anyone (if you are still reading) help elliminate or comment on any of them?