• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pn125
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Jan 2008

New lighting X10 project

All,
    My lounge is being 'revamped' and I intend to install an x10 system - but while being a qualified electrician i'm an x10 virgin ! so here are my questions :-

The x10 will be mains bourne - not RF
    I want each light to have it's own address (150w GU10) max per light + dimmable.

1. What switches should I use and what cables should come down to the switch ?
    2. Should I use inline modules in the ceiling void for each light. Some units have switch selectors for address , others are 'programmed' does it matter ?
    3. I want to use a Harmony 1000 to control the lighting, how do I get the RF X10 commands from the harmony onto the mains ? Also would this be 2 way ?
    i.e if an x10 switch puts a light on - will the harmony unit display be updated to reflect this change?
    4. I want to also put my garden lighting on this system ( will be din-mounted on a separate consumer unit. What modules would you suggest ?

Thankyou for your patience !
    Regards, Paul.
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Each light can have its own address, you have 256 addresses to play with
    1. If you just want on and off then normal light switches will do and use appliance modules. If you want dimming then its better to use momentary switches and lighting modules (ok some lighting modules can use normal switches but dimming is then controlled via a controller only). I like the ability to be able to dim locally as well. Wiring. I think the best way to do is to wire up like you would for a normal switch but include a neutral wire. I can send you a diagram if you want.
    2. I would use micro modules. Very reliable and can be installed behind your switch.
    3. The Harmony I believe doesn't transmit X10 RF. So what you need is a