What would be the best way to monitor electric usage over 50 circuits?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Collectors
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Mar 2009

What would be the best way to monitor electric usage over 50 circuits?

Hi, i hope you can help. I am an electrician & aim to build a house in the near future & hope to use the idratec system.
    I will be wiring the power sockets in the house as a radial system & not the traditional ring main. This will enable a lot more control over the house automation. This will be similar with the lighting for each room to be on its own circuit.
    I will end up with around 50 circuits & will be looking to monitor each circuit for power usage.
    Question is! What’s the best way to do this?
    I was possibly thinking of QAI-001 4 Way Analogue Input unit & connect to 50 ct’s (Coil transformers) But presumably i would be looking at 50 ct’s & 13 x QAI-001 to do it this way, or am i going down the wrong path.
    Open to any suggestions. (It all needs to be logged so i can look back over data. )

Cheers,

Chris.
    Regards Chris.
    Barnet Walks
    Collectors-info
  • chris_j_hunter
    Automated Home Legend
    • Dec 2007

many of us looking to do this, affordably of course ... best option we've found so far seems to be some bulk-buy ADM1TEs connected to pulse-counting modules (not sure if the ODI is one of them) ... can't see it being affordable, though !

an alternative, though accuracy would not be so good, might be some CC128s, which can keep an eye on (IIRC) three circuits at the moment & may soon be able to do ten ...

other options include Plogg ...

Google'll find them all easily enough !!

any others, anyone ?
    Our self-build - going further with HA...

Comment

• Gumby
      • May 2004