Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BT Extension wiring

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default BT Extension wiring

    I’ve a problem with a house that used to have two phone lines, one of which had several extensions and one of which had none. When the house was built it had1 master socket and 4 extensions and when the second line was requested an engineer came and connected something in the master socket and then fitted a double socket in another room which he said was the second line (only connection) and a socket for the original line. The original line was later disconnected at the exchange leaving the second line with only one outlet. I would now like to connect up all the extensions to this line but don’t know where to start! I have looked in the master socket (at least I believe it is this) and drawn a sketch diagram of the wiring (attached), however, when I opened it up a component I believe to be a surge protection resistor, fell out (KBA 8911B H3). It’s absence does not make seem to make any difference to the existing phone line.

    So what I would like to know is what do I have to do in the Master socket to connect all of the extensions, including the double socket, to the remaining line.

    I have posted this question on another Forum and have had been sent links to various extension wiring diagrams but, whilst useful, these do not deal with my situation.

    As far as phone lines go I am a novice but I learn quickly and really would appreciate a “walk-though” if possible.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    It should be possible to swap the wiring. The thing that fell out was probably either the ring capacitor or the surge suppressor.
    Normally the phone line comes into the master socket and is screwed to the terminal A and B. Then pins 2, 5 and 3 are connected from the master socket to the extension sockets. Pin 3 is the Bell wire and is only used for the extensions. Is this wire also there. As I don't see it on the diagram you attached.
    Now making an assumption about how the BT chappy did the wiring. The wires going to the grey boxes may be the second line.
    You will need to check. Check to see if phone is working then disconnect one of these wires and see if the phone still works, if it doesn't, then reconnect if phone works again then you know that these are the wires you want. Then just remove the old wires from A and B and attach the 2nd line wires to the terminals.
    Have a look here as well http://www.wppltd.demon.co.uk/WPP/Wi...telephone.html
    Last edited by toscal; 9th April 2009 at 10:25 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default BT Extension

    I know that the thing that fell out was the surge supressor. What di I do about it?

    I'll try the other suggestions but have now to go to hospital will get back next Tueasday.

    thanks

    Pete

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default BT Extension wiring

    Hi, I'm hoping someone is still watching this thread.

    As I said in my last message I know that the thing that fell out was the surge protector but where does it go? I've seen it fitted to a Master Socket but not the type that I have which has the small removeable panel.

    I have rechecked the wiring and there doesn't appear to be a bell wire leaving the Master Socket.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    Hopefully these pictures will help you identify what type of socket you have. An NTE5 has a removable lower section on the front to conveniently disconnect your "premises" wiring from the incoming BT line, all extensions etc. inside your property should be wired into the removable faceplate part.

    http://www.buzzhost.co.uk/nte5.php

    If it's not obvious where the capacitor or surge supressor should go back, it's probably best to buy a new, similar socket and replace the bits that look different. Note that BT will get, erm, "upset" if you work on their wiring i.e. the wiring in the fixed part of the NTE5.

    HTH,

    Tim.

    EDIT: there's some more info on another page at the same site (http://www.buzzhost.co.uk/dslfilters.php) re: wiring colour codes and connecting extension sockets
    Last edited by TimH; 16th April 2009 at 01:38 PM. Reason: more info

  6. #6
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,004

    Default

    Have a look here for where the surge component goes. http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/line_jacks.htm#NTE This gives you almost all the types of master socket going, so you should get a good idea.
    Though I would have to agree with Tim its probably better to buy a new one.
    I find it very strange that there is no bell wire.
    This is another site I often use http://www.rob-r.co.uk/other/UKphonecatwiring.htm.

    This page show you how the master should be wired up when using extensions. http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/wiring_info.htm
    Hope this helps
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •