Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: cupboard ventilation

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1

    Default cupboard ventilation

    does anyone know where to get a simple thermostat to control some fans in a hifi cupboard. and what sort of temperature would be good to have them coming on at?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default Re: cupboard ventilation

    Hi,

    The simplest way is probably to use a central heating room thermostat, for example: http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/...04167&id=84704

    Link this to a bathroom extract fan, (e.g. http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/...04281&id=71740 and you've got your cupboard ventilated.

    As for the temperature setting, read the manuals for your AV kit to see what maximum temperature they state. You need to ensure that you don't have the extract fans coming on just because the central heating is on, so something like 25-28 degC would be a good starting point.

    HTH,

    Tim.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Sorry to drag such an old thread up, but this deals with my exact problem...

    I'm probably being a bit thick here, but room stats switch on the power when the temperature falls BELOW a pre-set value.

    If I use a room stat to control an extractor fan (to keep a room cool), what do I need to do to make it operate in reverse?

    Thanks,

    Jon

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,000

    Default

    Some room stats also allow for cooling as well. What about using a coule of PC Fans with a temperature controller. I'm thinking along the lines of a 3.5 or 5.25" drive bay cooling box you then connect to a couple of PC type fans to this. I found this on maplin http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?...=48350&doy=4m6
    or this one
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...rce=14&doy=4m6
    Though I think both of these devices won't actually turn the fans on or off, it just varies the speed and therefore airflow.

    Make sure if you go the Pc fan route to get ultra quiet fans, as the cheap and chearful ones can be very noisy after a while.
    Last edited by toscal; 4th June 2007 at 11:53 AM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    500

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jon_itmagic View Post
    I'm probably being a bit thick here, but room stats switch on the power when the temperature falls BELOW a pre-set value.

    If I use a room stat to control an extractor fan (to keep a room cool), what do I need to do to make it operate in reverse?
    Jon,

    Check out this page:
    http://www.sunvic.co.uk/datasheet_tlx9000.html

    You'd normally wire your boiler across 1 & 3, to switch on a fan you'd wire that across 1 & 2. Make sure you provide an isolation switch so you can maintain the system if needed, and in an industrial environment you'd have a warning sign stating equipment may start automatically...

    HTH,

    Tim.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •