Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: X10 PIR Solution - need advice!

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Smile X10 PIR Solution - need advice!

    Hi all,

    I'm looking for a stylish, outdoor PIR which I can use to trigger an X10 command. I don't mind if its wired or wireless (prefer wired in a way) or if the X10 functionality is in the device or via another adapter. The problem is all I can find at the moment are x10 pirs with built in lights (I want the light in a different position) or the RF hawk-eye PIR which isnt really robust enough for outdoor use, and of course, standard non X10 PIRs which only switch mains systems and therefore I can't use it for X10.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? Is there a way I can use a bog standard outdoor PIR with my X10 system somehow - perhaps through some kind of adapter?

    Or does anyone know of a nice outdoor X10 pir unit?

    Thanks!

    Z.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member Marc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I currently use an Elite PIR with a powerflash module. The Elite PIR's are excellent bits of kit and very configurable (both NC and NO) plus distance, pulse, led on or off etc.

    http://www.gjd.co.uk/elite.htm

    The Powerflash module will convert it's trigger to X10!

    http://www.letsautomate.com/10258.cf...C674AA8805C8E2

  3. #3
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Any wired outdoor PIR would work with a powerflash module. Though you will need a 12V DC supply for the PIR.
    Optex do some good sensors. They even do a battery version of their VX-402 range, so no need to run extra cables for the power. And they now do a GSM version, so you can get text messages when its triggered.
    http://www.optexeurope.com/Site/temP...g=2&intLevel=6

    Don't know how much they are in the Uk but here in Spain they cost from about 150 euros. So not cheap.
    Last edited by toscal; 28th May 2009 at 02:59 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Any wired outdoor PIR would work with a powerflash module.
    Not sure I understand how? Most of the ones I see simply have mains relays inside them which are triggered on/off, so you have to wire everything through it.

    How would the powerflash work with this?

    Thanks,

    Z.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc View Post
    I currently use an Elite PIR with a powerflash module. The Elite PIR's are excellent bits of kit and very configurable (both NC and NO) plus distance, pulse, led on or off etc.

    http://www.gjd.co.uk/elite.htm

    The Powerflash module will convert it's trigger to X10!

    http://www.letsautomate.com/10258.cf...C674AA8805C8E2
    Great! Looks like exactly what I need! Thanks!

  6. #6
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zion View Post
    Not sure I understand how? Most of the ones I see simply have mains relays inside them which are triggered on/off, so you have to wire everything through it.

    How would the powerflash work with this?

    Thanks,

    Z.
    What I meant was any exterior PIR designed for an alarm panel such as the ones shown in the link I gave you. I have a couple of clients who have these sensors from Optex and they work very well.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    11

    Default

    If you open up most cheap sensor lights they have 2 boards in them, one is the PSU and relay, the other the motion sensor - there are 3 or 4 wires between them, one is usually 5v into the motion sensor, another a control to the relay, and the third ground. There is a 4th on some that is for sensing when the power is turned off and on again which can be ignored from what I have found.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •