Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: windows CE touchscreen

  1. #1
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default windows CE touchscreen

    just saw this on the maplin website. Seems quite cheap to me just under 80 pounds for a touch screen. I guess it could make a good HA terminal
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=286831
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hayes, Kent
    Posts
    39

    Default

    The last time I wrote some web pages for windows ce I found the default browser to be awful (worse than Internet explorer 6).

    However there is a version of the opera browser (for free) that should work on the device instead.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    My experience suggests to keep away from CE based systems - they are a cut down version of what is a messy operating system. You are better off sticking with a full blown XP system - while it does have its share of problems there is a better chance that you can get your projects to work without too many problems!

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member wywywywy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Price is now just under 70.

    I was on the verge of an impulse buy, having pictured myself with a pseudo Crestron-like terminal in my hands. But then I found that similar WinCE-based GPS devices are actually cheaper, also with the possibility of installing (via hacks) apps on unlike this non-standard one. And of course that can be used as a sat nav too.

    So I'll give this a miss now... unless there's a 8" version!

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Often wondered about those CE based GPS devices one of the firms I use from time to time sells loads of them they call them GPS Navigators .
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member Marc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Save your money on the maplin device.

    I got one in December and it's pretty much useless unless your sitting directly on top of a wifi router.

    I could go on and on but I won't.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member Gangsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc View Post
    Save your money on the maplin device.

    I got one in December and it's pretty much useless unless your sitting directly on top of a wifi router.

    I could go on and on but I won't.

    Does it have an ethernet socket on it, or do you know if I could use a usb > ethernet?

    And much more importantly - whats the back of it shaped like - will it sink flush into a wall (at 60-70 quid each - it going to be cheaper than the lightswitches I need lol)

    Last but not least - do you know if it has .net framework? So i can customize it?

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member Gangsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Woohoo, cracked it

    I now have my maplin mid running my lights more automation to follow.

    The start of a very cool looking ui, and always online and permantly powered (cat5 to the usb port on the device)

    Will be getting another 5 or 6 of these in the next couple weeks - awsome as a lightswitch replacement - and very neat installed in a wall

    FYI, All the work is done on the server, the mid just passes commands along, as the mid is pretty slow for most things, but its working great for this

  9. #9
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    any chance of some photos
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  10. #10
    Automated Home Jr Member Gangsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Yeah, no problem - give me a day or two (i have no lights at all just now, halfway through running wires and still have some live ends to deal with)

    If anyone has bought a maplin mid, an decided it wasn't for them - let me know how much you want

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •