Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: X10 House Alarm Recommendation

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default X10 House Alarm Recommendation

    We are just doing our house up and want to install a new alarm system that is X10 compatible that I can extend to include other features like light controls, cameras etc.

    I am looking for the following from the alarm:-

    1. Exterior alarm sounder
    2. Control panel to be in the hall so it can be de-activated when entering the front door
    3. Wireless sensors (about 5 required with the support for more)

    These are the basics I would require, however I would be interested in something that can be added to like the following:-

    1. Ability to SMS you when the alarm goes off
    2. Ability to set/unset the alarm over the internet (I have a wireless router at home)

    I'm not too bothered about having this monitored by a third party company.

    My budget is around 500.

    I'm not too sure how all the X10 bolts together etc so any information on how this would all be added would be a help.

    All suggestions/recommendation are very much appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Well, as a starter for 10, Can I suggest you look at the Sc9000 starter kit....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/marmi...em-p-1158.html

    Its a fairly basic alarm, but is X10, the starter kit has two sensors (one door, one movement, but you can add upto 30 other sensors) and one key fob controller (again, you can add more).

    The unit will do most of what you are looking for, except it does not send SMS, but will dial 3 numbers and play you a recorded message is the alarm is triggered.

    You will need to purchase more sensors and the external alarm box, but all should come in within your budget.

    There are other options, but I cant see you getting anything better for less than 1000.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    My life is Home Automation, and my PS3 clan friends at http://www.ps3crowd.com

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaffab View Post
    Well, as a starter for 10, Can I suggest you look at the Sc9000 starter kit....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/marmi...em-p-1158.html

    Its a fairly basic alarm, but is X10, the starter kit has two sensors (one door, one movement, but you can add upto 30 other sensors) and one key fob controller (again, you can add more).

    The unit will do most of what you are looking for, except it does not send SMS, but will dial 3 numbers and play you a recorded message is the alarm is triggered.

    You will need to purchase more sensors and the external alarm box, but all should come in within your budget.

    There are other options, but I cant see you getting anything better for less than 1000.

    Thanks for the info this looks good. Can you point me in the direction of the external alarm box and are these easily configured to work with the device you selected?

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,014

    Default

    Why not go for an infinite Prime alarm with the x10 interface and gsm card this is identical to Marmitek Pro Guard system but cheaper.
    these are places you can buy the Infinite prime
    http://www.alertelectrical.com/Burgl...ts/default.asp
    http://www.tritonfiresystems.co.uk/b...FVtn4wodE17srA

    This is the uk company site http://www.espuk.com/

    Also the prime can use a special wireless alarm box for outside so it only needs a mains connection. The sc9000 cannot use an external sounder. There are x10 activated sounders that would need say a dummy bell box to put it in.
    I don't recommend the SC9000 as a security system. When we have installed these in the past we normally tell the client that its a programmable home automation controller with basic security functions. The other problem with the sc9000 is that when you need to change the batteries in the sensor, unless you can change them very very quickly you have to delete the sensor from the panel then once the fresh batteries are installed you the re-assign it to the same zone. With most other wirless alarm systems you don't need to do this.
    Battery type is very important. I always recommend Energiser lithium batteries or simialar, if the sensors use either AA or AAA batteries.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Why not go for an infinite Prime alarm with the x10 interface and gsm card this is identical to Marmitek Pro Guard system but cheaper.
    these are places you can buy the Infinite prime
    http://www.alertelectrical.com/Burgl...ts/default.asp
    http://www.tritonfiresystems.co.uk/b...FVtn4wodE17srA

    This is the uk company site http://www.espuk.com/

    Also the prime can use a special wireless alarm box for outside so it only needs a mains connection. The sc9000 cannot use an external sounder. There are x10 activated sounders that would need say a dummy bell box to put it in.
    I don't recommend the SC9000 as a security system. When we have installed these in the past we normally tell the client that its a programmable home automation controller with basic security functions. The other problem with the sc9000 is that when you need to change the batteries in the sensor, unless you can change them very very quickly you have to delete the sensor from the panel then once the fresh batteries are installed you the re-assign it to the same zone. With most other wirless alarm systems you don't need to do this.
    Battery type is very important. I always recommend Energiser lithium batteries or simialar, if the sensors use either AA or AAA batteries.
    Does the infinate prime come with the X10 interface? What does the X10 interface provide me that others dont?

    On the sites you gave me it doesn't mention x10. Is it a proper X10 compatible alarm?

    For example, can the lights in the house be set to switch on when the alarm sounds?

  6. #6
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    But the Sc9000 can use an external alarm box. The one I was going to direct you to was the one I use....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/x10-e...it-p-1096.html
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    My life is Home Automation, and my PS3 clan friends at http://www.ps3crowd.com

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    if I went for the SC9000 what else would I need to be able to extend my X10 range, for example:-

    1. Arm/Disarm the alarm over the internet
    2. Switch lights on over the internet

    How do you program the SC9000 up? Do you do this from PC or from the alarm unit itself?

    Is it simple to install and configure or do you need a professional?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Why not go for an infinite Prime alarm with the x10 interface and gsm card this is identical to Marmitek Pro Guard system but cheaper.
    these are places you can buy the Infinite prime
    http://www.alertelectrical.com/Burgl...ts/default.asp
    http://www.tritonfiresystems.co.uk/b...FVtn4wodE17srA

    This is the uk company site http://www.espuk.com/

    Also the prime can use a special wireless alarm box for outside so it only needs a mains connection. The sc9000 cannot use an external sounder. There are x10 activated sounders that would need say a dummy bell box to put it in.
    I don't recommend the SC9000 as a security system. When we have installed these in the past we normally tell the client that its a programmable home automation controller with basic security functions. The other problem with the sc9000 is that when you need to change the batteries in the sensor, unless you can change them very very quickly you have to delete the sensor from the panel then once the fresh batteries are installed you the re-assign it to the same zone. With most other wirless alarm systems you don't need to do this.
    Battery type is very important. I always recommend Energiser lithium batteries or simialar, if the sensors use either AA or AAA batteries.
    Toscal,

    Hi. I took your advice in the end and went for the Infinite Prime with External Sounder and GSM Module as I won't have a PSTN line connected to this.

    I installed the alarm today and have powered up, registered the PIRs and magnetic door switch. I have done the signal test and get 4 beeps to indicate best signal. I have also done the PIR jumper walk test (Service menu, transmistters, test etc..) and these all worked fine. I do have a few issues and was hoping you could advice me on, they are:-

    1. After setting the alarm and then dis-arming it, I get the message "DISARMED.. SYSTEM TROUBLE" on the front panel. When I click the DOWN ARROW it reads "MEDIA LOSS PSTN MODULE". Could this be as I don't have the PSTN phone line connected? If so how do I prevent this error from showing in the future?

    2. I tried fully arming the alarm whilst I was in the house so I could set it off via the PIR motion sensors to prove they are setup and working ok. I left it 2 minutes before walking into the hall way where all the PIRs are currently sat on the table. I managed to walk past all of these several times without the alarm going off? Surely this can't be normal? I have P Count set on the PIRs to (2P) using the jumper on pins 2 and 3. I also have mode set to NORM using the jumper on just pin 3. Any ideas?

    3. I have the GSM card preinstalled. I inserted my Orange UK SIM that has 15 credit on there. There is no PIN code on the SIM and can put this in a mobile phone and make and receive calls. When the SIM card is in the Alarm I went to the installer menu, selected 7 (service) and 9 GSM signal test. Nothing came up on the screen, however the alarm did 4 very fast quite beeps. What does this mean? Why will my GSM module not give me a signal test? I have also tried a UK O2 SIM card without PIN and the same thing happens? I did notice that in one of the other menus the GSM PIN code is set by default to 0000. Does this mean there isn't a code set or does this mean I need to set a code on my SIM to 0000 to get this to work?

    Sorry for all the questions but the UK support here is limited to Mon to Fri 9-5 which is when I am at work so can't really call them.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,014

    Default

    Answer to:
    Q1 yes thats the telephone line. you can choose whether the system employs cellular or PSTN communication.
    To program a Vocal Message account’s communication interface:
    1. From the Programming menu, select Communications, Accounts [951].
    2. Select a VM account (4-6).
    3. From the account’s sub-menu, select Interface [#2].
    4. Select either GSM or PSTN.
    Oh and then there is the line monitor
    To program the Line Monitor setting:
    1. From the Programming menu, select Communications, Comm. Options, Line
    Monitor [95401].
    2. Select Enabled or Disabled.

    Q2 This may be a height issue, and where abouts on the table where the sensors, if they are not on the edge of the table you might not get much in the way of detection. If the table is very shiny then you may get reflections which will confuse the sensors. IF you are walking straight towards them then this tends not to trigger them very effectively. The best method to test them on the bench is to cover them with the box they came in then when ready to test lift the box and wave your hand about 30cm in front of them.

    Q3 You need to set a pin code for your sim, its set to 0000. I wouldn't choose 0000 but something else.

    The prime has one of the few GSM modules that actually requires a pin code.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi,

    There is another option. You could go for a Visonic Wireless Alarm system, they are really quite good and they have built in X10 control. So when the alarm goes off it can send X10 commands. You can kit out a 4 bed house for about 500 including the X10 interface. Best of all, if you then buy something like an RFXCOM receiver, you can sniff the RF packets and get them into any application you like.

    What do you want to be able to do with the X10 aspect of the alarm?

    I use a Visonic system and its fantastic. I've not once had a false alarm in over a year.

    Zion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •