Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: X10 House Alarm Recommendation

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default X10 House Alarm Recommendation

    We are just doing our house up and want to install a new alarm system that is X10 compatible that I can extend to include other features like light controls, cameras etc.

    I am looking for the following from the alarm:-

    1. Exterior alarm sounder
    2. Control panel to be in the hall so it can be de-activated when entering the front door
    3. Wireless sensors (about 5 required with the support for more)

    These are the basics I would require, however I would be interested in something that can be added to like the following:-

    1. Ability to SMS you when the alarm goes off
    2. Ability to set/unset the alarm over the internet (I have a wireless router at home)

    I'm not too bothered about having this monitored by a third party company.

    My budget is around 500.

    I'm not too sure how all the X10 bolts together etc so any information on how this would all be added would be a help.

    All suggestions/recommendation are very much appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Well, as a starter for 10, Can I suggest you look at the Sc9000 starter kit....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/marmi...em-p-1158.html

    Its a fairly basic alarm, but is X10, the starter kit has two sensors (one door, one movement, but you can add upto 30 other sensors) and one key fob controller (again, you can add more).

    The unit will do most of what you are looking for, except it does not send SMS, but will dial 3 numbers and play you a recorded message is the alarm is triggered.

    You will need to purchase more sensors and the external alarm box, but all should come in within your budget.

    There are other options, but I cant see you getting anything better for less than 1000.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    My life is Home Automation, and my PS3 clan friends at http://www.ps3crowd.com

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaffab View Post
    Well, as a starter for 10, Can I suggest you look at the Sc9000 starter kit....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/marmi...em-p-1158.html

    Its a fairly basic alarm, but is X10, the starter kit has two sensors (one door, one movement, but you can add upto 30 other sensors) and one key fob controller (again, you can add more).

    The unit will do most of what you are looking for, except it does not send SMS, but will dial 3 numbers and play you a recorded message is the alarm is triggered.

    You will need to purchase more sensors and the external alarm box, but all should come in within your budget.

    There are other options, but I cant see you getting anything better for less than 1000.

    Thanks for the info this looks good. Can you point me in the direction of the external alarm box and are these easily configured to work with the device you selected?

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Why not go for an infinite Prime alarm with the x10 interface and gsm card this is identical to Marmitek Pro Guard system but cheaper.
    these are places you can buy the Infinite prime
    http://www.alertelectrical.com/Burgl...ts/default.asp
    http://www.tritonfiresystems.co.uk/b...FVtn4wodE17srA

    This is the uk company site http://www.espuk.com/

    Also the prime can use a special wireless alarm box for outside so it only needs a mains connection. The sc9000 cannot use an external sounder. There are x10 activated sounders that would need say a dummy bell box to put it in.
    I don't recommend the SC9000 as a security system. When we have installed these in the past we normally tell the client that its a programmable home automation controller with basic security functions. The other problem with the sc9000 is that when you need to change the batteries in the sensor, unless you can change them very very quickly you have to delete the sensor from the panel then once the fresh batteries are installed you the re-assign it to the same zone. With most other wirless alarm systems you don't need to do this.
    Battery type is very important. I always recommend Energiser lithium batteries or simialar, if the sensors use either AA or AAA batteries.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Why not go for an infinite Prime alarm with the x10 interface and gsm card this is identical to Marmitek Pro Guard system but cheaper.
    these are places you can buy the Infinite prime
    http://www.alertelectrical.com/Burgl...ts/default.asp
    http://www.tritonfiresystems.co.uk/b...FVtn4wodE17srA

    This is the uk company site http://www.espuk.com/

    Also the prime can use a special wireless alarm box for outside so it only needs a mains connection. The sc9000 cannot use an external sounder. There are x10 activated sounders that would need say a dummy bell box to put it in.
    I don't recommend the SC9000 as a security system. When we have installed these in the past we normally tell the client that its a programmable home automation controller with basic security functions. The other problem with the sc9000 is that when you need to change the batteries in the sensor, unless you can change them very very quickly you have to delete the sensor from the panel then once the fresh batteries are installed you the re-assign it to the same zone. With most other wirless alarm systems you don't need to do this.
    Battery type is very important. I always recommend Energiser lithium batteries or simialar, if the sensors use either AA or AAA batteries.
    Does the infinate prime come with the X10 interface? What does the X10 interface provide me that others dont?

    On the sites you gave me it doesn't mention x10. Is it a proper X10 compatible alarm?

    For example, can the lights in the house be set to switch on when the alarm sounds?

  6. #6
    Automated Home Sr Member jaffab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    94

    Default

    But the Sc9000 can use an external alarm box. The one I was going to direct you to was the one I use....

    http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/x10-e...it-p-1096.html
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    My life is Home Automation, and my PS3 clan friends at http://www.ps3crowd.com

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    if I went for the SC9000 what else would I need to be able to extend my X10 range, for example:-

    1. Arm/Disarm the alarm over the internet
    2. Switch lights on over the internet

    How do you program the SC9000 up? Do you do this from PC or from the alarm unit itself?

    Is it simple to install and configure or do you need a professional?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    There is no arm or disarm or x10 control available via the internet for the SC9000.

    Alert electrical do mention x10 and they do mention the x10 interface just scroll down and look for the home automation module. I believe an INternet interface is coming for existing Prime users. There is an internet version of the prime already here http://www.electronics-line.com/apage/4985.php
    and there is a PC interface so all programming can be done via the PC.
    http://www.electronics-line.com/acon...992/124994.php

    Jaffab if you read my post I did say that there are x10 activated sounders which is exactly what you have.

    Here is the USA data sheet for the Prime as this briefly mentions about the web interface http://www.el-usa.com/Product/itemcu...uct%20Info.pdf
    Last edited by toscal; 13th December 2009 at 07:28 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    If you can't arm/disarm over the internet is the any way to do this remotely? Can this be done from a phone via SMS or touch tone?

    Also, can the door alarms be used as motion sensors?

  10. #10
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    The SC9000 can be armed and disarmed via the telephone. The door sensors can not be used as motion sensors.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •