• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wcavanagh
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Apr 2010

New Project, Need some advice.

Hi all,

I am pretty new to all this, and want to start a home automation project for my house. I love all things gadget ect. I have a very strong IT grounding, and am building my server at the moment.

1st thing on my list, is what central software is my best option. I have seen so much out there. I am a windows user, so no Linux stuff for now.

I will want to control the following eventually

CCTV, All lights (control brightness), Heating, Alarm.

At the moment, I am looking at the CCTV side. I was planning on a DVR card in the server, is this an option? How about compatibility with the home automation system. Also I have a dome camera, to PTZ control is needed too, for example when someone presses the door bell I would like the cam to pan round and show me who it is.

Also I have an I-Phone and soon an I-Pad that I will want to use with the system.

I have a super thermostat that uses MOD BUS at the moment, so would like to make use of that too.

Sorry to ask so much, but as I am building the server at the mo, might as well get the right kit from that start.

Cheers,
    Will
  • Andrew Millne
    Automated Home Ninja
    • Nov 2007

Take a look at Idratek, there's lots of folks here with the knowledge. http://www.idratek.com Also check out Gumby's blog for some more useful info.
    Visit my blog and Follow me on Twitter...

Comment

• wcavanagh
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Apr 2010

idratek looks just the ticket, thank you, I will have a good look over there website

Comment

• MadArtSoft
        Automated Home Lurker
        • Jan 2010

Please look madartsoft. Our solutions are based on the ZigBee (wireless technology). We're creating web interface for control appliances via the internet.

Comment

• chris_j_hunter
          Automated Home Legend
          • Dec 2007