Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Light Control

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default Light Control

    Happy Easter one and all,

    Has anyone played with Cortex to control light levels and scenes? I'm looking at a RGB LED to act as a spotlight on a piece of artwork. I know that RGB LEDs can be controlled via DMX but not sure if Cortex offers be any solutions?

    Paul

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    If idratek has a 0 -10V module then there are 0 - 10V RGB dimmers available. You need one 0 - 10Vmodule per colour. We are currently testing a 0 - 10v RGB dimmer module for a project we are working on.
    There are IR controllable RGB modules so if you can learn the codes then you could do it that way.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    The QAO module provides 4x 0-10V channels so I suppose one module for one RGB light or perhaps 3 modules for 4 lights. In Cortex the analogue outputs can be connected to dimmer type objects such that the same automated features can be acheived as per direct physical dimmers, but there isn't any specialised support for RGB colour so desired colour effects will probably be instigated using macros

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    The RGB dimmers we use are capable of 5A per channel or colour.
    That means about 25m of RGB flexistrip.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    This is the unit I was thinking of buying and it suggest it needs a 12V (330mA) supply. The same site has a range of DMX controllers and some have a RF control

    http://www.ultraleds.co.uk/downlight...it-p-2134.html


  6. #6
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    What I would want to know which isn't on the website is what the lumen output is.
    Since it looks like it has one each of red, blue and green LEDs I would also like to know what the colour beam is like as you may get a nice white circle in the middle, (if you have all three LEDs on) but towards the edges you may get red, blue and green circles.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    more options here, maybe :

    http://www.display-lighting.co.uk/sh...LED+Spotlights

    lots of links & seem to offer a good range of options ...

    (not tried them yet, but hoping to order some soon)

  8. #8
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Once again another company that doesn't publish the lumen values of its products. This to me is the most important thing, as it helps to make a good comparison to a normal bulb.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •