Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Restarting Cortex ...

  1. #1
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default Restarting Cortex ...

    Cortex is running fin but recently I've noticed that if I stop the network then it doesn't restart correctly instead giving lots of network errors and node failures. I need to reboot my machine to regain access to IDRANet. It almost seems the serial port is not resetting correctly. I am not sure if this is a Windows update or maybe a Cortex change or maybe a hardware issue here.

    Anyone else seeing this ?

    K
    Last edited by Kevin; 26th April 2010 at 12:45 PM.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Can't say I've seen this issue although I'm running Windows Home Server (Windows 2003) rather than XP. You do have some power up options in Cortex with regard to resetting nodes I wonder if this is worth experimenting with to see if it helps?

    Paul

  3. #3
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default

    I'm on WHS too. Possibly I've accidently changed something in the power up options. I'll take a look ... glad to know it's just me.

    K

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    817

    Default

    If unresolved please post us a log, or at very least the initial part of the log of the problematic start up sequence. A copy of the database would also help to determine what sort of hardware is involved in your system. If resolved let us know cause.

  5. #5
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default

    A bit more info - this only happens after I quit Cortex and restart it, even if I restart it immediately. It doesn't happen if I just stop the network and restart it. My only course of action is a Windows reboot which also of course causes issues with Cortex updates

    Also every time I quit I am warned that config has changed even if it hasn't but maybe this is normal.

    This is what happens as I restart Cortex... almost as if it's lost the serial port..

    17:28:56 Network start request
    17:28:56
    17:28:56 RS232 Purge buffers
    17:28:56
    17:28:56 Initialisation: Start
    17:28:56
    17:28:56 Initialisation: Starting any power supplies
    17:28:56
    17:28:56 Initialisation: Versioning All nodes seperately
    17:28:57 > World
    17:28:57 exception NetworkIO.TxLocal

    **** Auto Log on failure detection point ****

    17:29:07 Network Timeout: World
    17:29:07 Network stop request
    17:29:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •