Newbie, House Renovation, Suggestions pretty please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Steelercaz
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Jul 2010

Newbie, House Renovation, Suggestions pretty please?

Hi all

Right-o, I might as well apologise in advance for a long post - but I want to get all the details in so none of you waste time asking me questions I could've answered from the start! I'm posting here as more of a 'general thread' to the question I posted on Kevin's joggler app post on the xAP forum (link), as he has suggested.

So, me and the fella bought our 1st house in April, and we've gone from just changing a few bits & bobs to gutting and totally renovating just about the whole bloody building (we've knocked that many walls down & built new ones it may possibly have been easier to knock it down and start again!). I'm a tech fanatic, and HWMBO is a gadget lover-if not understanding any of the tech behind anything he does (he appreciates end results, but isn't interesting in learning how to get there).

My 'capability' level in tech varies - I can build a PC with my eyes shut, can design a (very) basic website using html (but as a print-designer prefer WYSIWIG until I know more...), have spent literally months on here/AV Forums/Google, etc, lurking almost every day and trying to research all the various options open to me. I have wired up most of the house with Cat6, and am in the process of having everywhere plastered right now, so will be connecting it all up very shortly. When it comes to coding, however, I know pretty much nothing - although am exceptionally keen to start learning some basics asap, just can't seem to figure out where to start.