• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • georgevella
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Sep 2010

Mixing z-wave products from multiple vendors

Hi

I am setting up my apartment for home automation. I already have a basic ring-style electrical circuit running, which is why I am going for a mix of Merten for the switches and controller and HomePro for the adapters (I am from Malta and we use the BS1363 (UK) socket). I would like to be able to be able to switch off/on the HomePro adapters with Merten's transmitters. Would this be possible?

(PS: I am relatively new to home automation so any tips and recommendations would be appreciated)
  • darkknight
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Dec 2005

I delved into this a few weeks ago and ran into some problems.

I mixed MK Astral Light switches with HomePro Light switches and plug in appliance and dimmer modules.

For most things, everything will work well. You would thing they are all compatible because of Z-Wave standards, right ?

But then I ran into a problem. Though I'm not sure if you'll experience this with the Merten switches, it's worth investigating just to be sure.

The MKAstral light switches I have support a feature called MultiChannel Command Class. My understanding is that this will be adopted as part of the Z-Wave standards, but currently, very few other suppliers support this feature.

This allows for a single device (such as a double paddle light switch) to be controlled as a single node. But because it has two paddles, it supports multiple channels within that node. So there's 1 and 2 channel for the left and right paddle. This is a non standard feature.