• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Garry Spight
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Sep 2010

Newbie Here!

Hi everyone im new here and dont have any knowledge of this home automation.

I am interested in learning tho.

I am due to move house soon and want to start bringing home automation into my life.

The house im moving to is not a new build, so no cabling anywhere.

There is an overwelhing amount of info on here and I dont know where to start.

I would like to control stuff over the internet if possible, at the min I have a server for streaming media which is running server 2008 R2, a draytek 2820n router and 2 home plugs I also have a harmony 525 and an ipad.

I dont know if any of this stuff can be used in and install.

I would like to start with the lights and then on to media and then heating.

Please can someone help me I dont know where to start?

Do i run wires? do i go wireless?

Many thanks eveyone in advance
  • chris_j_hunter
    Automated Home Legend
    • Dec 2007

HA & multi-media, the degree of mix is an open point - intertwined or separate, not sure what's best, at the moment ...

have a look at Idratek, it can do the lighting & heating intelligently, and can work with Squeezebox for audio, and xAP for other stuff, and via browsers & MS Remote Desktop to provide links into other systems ...

we use Mac & EyeTV for TV & video, multi-channel & distributed, to desktops & laptops & 'phones & 'pods, and we're about to install Idratek for HA (lights, heating, security, taps, timers, etc), and Nabaztag (for messaging & interaction with mulitmedia & HA), and Zeta Fyreye (for fire), Y-Cam & Maxbotix for CCTV ... all of them at least worth a look !

other options, for various aspects, include EnOcean, EIB KNX, C-Bus, Dupline & Niko, Nice, Comfort, Abitana, AlertMe, plus Vellmann, Arduino & Cebek ... and others ... nothing does it all, all have strengths & weaknesses, with various degrees of involvement - but all are worth a look, and may do it for you !