Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: x10 Interference

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default x10 Interference

    Hi,

    I now there have been many questions on this subject but before i invest in a filter or do away with the light position can i ask if a standard surge protector/filter strip adapter you can buy offers any filtering for x10? this question may well demonstrate my lack of technical qualifications but would rather not spend another 28 for a Marmitek one

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    If its a proper filter strip, and not just a surge protector strip then it will help. But a decent one is going to cost a lot more than 28 pounds.
    X10 filters, filter out specific frequencies, where as a normal mains filter filters out a wider range. So may not get rid of the problem completely.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member Ad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I found a filter on eBay (the kind I think you can fit to certain sensitive computer equipment) and it did kind've work with an X10 problem I was having - cost 5 but may not work for everyone.

    What problem are you having? There may be other solutions...

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks both for your help. its not a critical light so may use the plug elsewhere.

    thanks again

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hi, Just to add a question to this thread on interference.

    I have an X10 set up controlling mainly lights within the house. All has been working fine for the last 8 months. However recently the lights have stopped responding to commands and turning on intermittently. there have been no new electrical items added to the house and no changes in the wiring. The only thing I can put the change down to is the tumble dryer decided to stop working in a rather spectacular way. The heater thermostat blew and made a few sparks. No fuses tripped on the main fuse box but since this point (I think) the lights have been miss-behaving.

    I have carried out the usual tests as posted on other posts and tracked it down to the computer set up and the TV/Media equipment. Both these set ups have various bits of kit plugged into a 4 way multi plug adaptor. Unplugging both adaptors and everything works fine again. I have ordered 2 plug in filters to see if this cures the problem but was just wondering what might suddenly cause electrical devises to start causing interference. I could understand if they were doing it from the start but everything was working fine.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    28

    Default

    I have a neighbour (I think!) that send out x10 signals randomly - like in 3:12 AM and the some other weird time. I was also thinking of getting a filter, but now considering a whole-house-filter, keeping my signal in, and his out

    Are you sure you dont have a neighbour that thinks his funny?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    None of the people near by have a clue about X10 so I can be fairly certain that there are no odd signals coming in. It has been working fine for months without any glitches. Obviously just got lucky. I thought the sparks might have introduced some form of interference and was hoping tuning all the power off might clear it, but no luck. Will have to see if the filters solve the problem.

    http://x10-hk.com/store/product_info...products_id=74

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •