Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Compatible RF protocols/appliances with Home Easy

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Compatible RF protocols/appliances with Home Easy

    I have wired HomeEasy Ultra sockets and switches throughout the house which I am controlling via the rather cumbersome HE100.

    I bought a Ebode TAKE10 remote, advertised as IR/RF Universal as I assumed I could pair this up with the switches, only to find out it is "X10 RF"

    I've also got some old BBSB sockets in my loft that I was going to use again (the ones with I-IV dial and A-D dials)

    Does anyone know what/if one of the combinations will pick up signals sent by the X10 remote? Device/address etc

    (I know this may seem like asking for saturdays lotto numbers but when I google...well...its all dutch to me )

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member Ad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Sorry, but AFAIK none of those combinations work - HomeEasy does not talk to X10, not sure on byebye standby talking to homeeasy, but I know that X10 does not talk to BBSB.

  3. #3
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Have a look at RFXCOM. This can receive and transmit X10 and Home Easy signals. so this maybe what you need.
    You may need some extra software to make it all work.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member martynwendon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Hi,

    As long as the X10 remote is 434MHZ, you should be able to use this to control BBSB, Byron and HomeEasy devices that use the older X10 style protocol (the ones with the dials to set house code and device number).

    Alternatively, RFXCom transmitters / receivers could be combined with HA software such as xAP Floorplan, HouseBot, HomeSeer, etc and used to provide an even greater level of control.


    Martyn

    Quote Originally Posted by fraser237 View Post
    I have wired HomeEasy Ultra sockets and switches throughout the house which I am controlling via the rather cumbersome HE100.

    I bought a Ebode TAKE10 remote, advertised as IR/RF Universal as I assumed I could pair this up with the switches, only to find out it is "X10 RF"

    I've also got some old BBSB sockets in my loft that I was going to use again (the ones with I-IV dial and A-D dials)

    Does anyone know what/if one of the combinations will pick up signals sent by the X10 remote? Device/address etc

    (I know this may seem like asking for saturdays lotto numbers but when I google...well...its all dutch to me )

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    don't know why but my post didn't get posted so here goes again.
    The frequency is 433.92MHz, its also referred to as 433.
    And BBSB, Byron, HomeEasy and Domia Lite are not compatible with X10. Never have been.
    BBSB is compatible with HomeEasy, Byron (who makes HomeEasy for B and Q), Domia Lite (which is not the same as Domia) and Klik on Klik off (Ikea has sold this in the past). There is another which I think is called Koopla or something, but this could just be part of the klik on klik off range.
    The confusion comes from Domia Lite and the Domia range. The Domia range is X10 compatible.
    Here is a review that Automated Home did on BBSB. This also explains that it is not compatible with X10.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  6. #6
    Automated Home Sr Member martynwendon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Maybe I am confused, but I have the following devices that all appear to utilise X10 RF protocol:

    HE302W (have half a dozen of these on X10 house code G)

    Byron RS3, RS18, RS61 (have various quantities of these on X10 house code B, C, K)

    Byron RS15 (have a load of these on X10 house code H)

    HomeEasy HE403 (have a fair few of these PIRs on X10 house code D)

    DomiaLite MS (have a fair few of these PIRs on X10 house code F)

    Also have a DomiaLite DPTS10-DL touch screen on X10 house code E)


    They all appear to take X10 style House Code / Device Code addressing via RFXCom.



    Martyn


    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    don't know why but my post didn't get posted so here goes again.
    The frequency is 433.92MHz, its also referred to as 433.
    And BBSB, Byron, HomeEasy and Domia Lite are not compatible with X10. Never have been.
    BBSB is compatible with HomeEasy, Byron (who makes HomeEasy for B and Q), Domia Lite (which is not the same as Domia) and Klik on Klik off (Ikea has sold this in the past). There is another which I think is called Koopla or something, but this could just be part of the klik on klik off range.
    The confusion comes from Domia Lite and the Domia range. The Domia range is X10 compatible.
    Here is a review that Automated Home did on BBSB. This also explains that it is not compatible with X10.

  7. #7
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Just because they have similar addressing wheels doesn't make the same as X10.
    The RFXCOM can communicate with over 14 different RF systems. Which is why it can talk to many different devices. I do know that the 868.95MHz RFXCOM which talks to Visonic sensors can map these to X10 codes.
    Most on line shops say somewhere when they are selling DomiaLite, BBSB etc, that they are not X10 compatible.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  8. #8
    Automated Home Sr Member martynwendon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I'm using xPLRFX - the RFXCom therefore doesn't know *which* particular RF device it is talking to when it is transmitting, I simply either send it a command using x10.basic or a command using homeeasy.basic depending on which devices I want to address.

    Or are you saying that the RFXCom is simply broadcasting the command in every single RF Protocol possible - possible I guess but it seems unlikely....

    I also have some "proper" X10 PIRs (MS13) and Magnetic Switches (DS10) and I can "pair" these with the receive devices mentioned previously....to me, this would suggested that they are all talking the same protocol?


    Martyn

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Just because they have similar addressing wheels doesn't make the same as X10.
    The RFXCOM can communicate with over 14 different RF systems. Which is why it can talk to many different devices. I do know that the 868.95MHz RFXCOM which talks to Visonic sensors can map these to X10 codes.
    Most on line shops say somewhere when they are selling DomiaLite, BBSB etc, that they are not X10 compatible.

  9. #9
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by martynwendon View Post
    I'm using xPLRFX - the RFXCom therefore doesn't know *which* particular RF device it is talking to when it is transmitting, I simply either send it a command using x10.basic or a command using homeeasy.basic depending on which devices I want to address.

    Or are you saying that the RFXCom is simply broadcasting the command in every single RF Protocol possible - possible I guess but it seems unlikely....

    I also have some "proper" X10 PIRs (MS13) and Magnetic Switches (DS10) and I can "pair" these with the receive devices mentioned previously....to me, this would suggested that they are all talking the same protocol?


    Martyn
    Actually it does know which device it is talking to since you send either a homeeasy.basic which must be for BBSB and x10.basic must be for X10 commands (see below about mapping virtual X10 devices to BBSB.
    If you want I could email you the X10 rf protocol documents and the DomiaLite RF protocol documents and you will see they are not the same.

    I also know that the RFXCOM Visonic 868.95 receiver can map Visonic sensors to an X10 address. It maybe that the RFXCOM 433.92 does something similar.
    I also suggest you read this on the xpl monkey website. As it clearly states
    Note - Standard X10 devices, including those that are mapped to X10 such as ELRO, NEXA, KlikOn-KlikOff and Domia Lite, do not require configuration and so do not appear here.
    and then further down there is this
    Unlike previous RFXCOM transmitters, when sending X10.basic commands to the RFXMitter, by default the message will only be sent as standard X10. To select a different protocol, add a line at the end of the xPL message body as shown in this example to send a Domia Lite command:

    xpl-cmnd
    x10.basic
    {
    command=on
    device=B6
    protocol=domialite
    }
    If it wasn't different then why would you need to do this.
    Last edited by toscal; 2nd November 2010 at 12:11 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member martynwendon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I agree that in *receiving* the RFXCom receiver / xPLRFX software will determine which protocol is being received and can map it appropriately...

    But in transmitting, that's the point I was making, when I send an xPL command, I send x10.basic and this then sends *just* the X10 RF protocol does it not? As far as I can see I don't specify any different protocol anywhere in the xPL message....

    The devices I listed previously will all react to the commands that are sent so they must be recognizing X10 RF, unless xPLRFX / RFXCom is broadcasting in every possible RF protocol by default?

    Additionally, I can pair these devices directly with MS13 and DS10 devices (i.e. with no involvement from RFXCom) so either the MS13 and DS10 are also transmitting every possible RF protocol, or these devices are able to recognise X10 RF?

    I guess the bottom line for the OP is to try his X10 remote with the BBSB devices that he has in the loft and see if they work or not....since he owns both bits of kit already he has nothing to lose.....


    Martyn

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    Actually it does know which device it is talking to since you send either a homeeasy.basic which must be for BBSB and x10.basic must be for X10 commands (see below about mapping virtual X10 devices to BBSB.
    If you want I could email you the X10 rf protocol documents and the DomiaLite RF protocol documents and you will see they are not the same.

    I also know that the RFXCOM Visonic 868.95 receiver can map Visonic sensors to an X10 address. It maybe that the RFXCOM 433.92 does something similar.
    I also suggest you read this on the xpl monkey website. As it clearly states


    and then further down there is this If it wasn't different then why would you need to do this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •