Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: HA Controller for inputs/outputs and temp

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default HA Controller for inputs/outputs and temp

    I am trying to choose a fully programmable HA Controller for a new DIY project which will largely be hard wired inputs and outputs as well as temperature monitoring, which will operate outputs depending on programming.

    My first choice was going to be home vision but I also want to have user friendly control and display of temperatures and systems status and it appears home vision is not well supported any more with regards to integration with software applications?

    Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

    • Fully programmable inputs and outputs
    • Temperature monitoring
    • Software Integration for easy control and monitoring (touch screen apps /fixed touch screens?)

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    I would go either the Homevision or Homevision Pro route. If you use Schelte's version of the HV software then this should give you what you require.
    Another option would be the Ocelot or Leopard systems. The Leopard is an Ocelot with a touchscreen. You would also need either the Secu16 or 16i and or some of the Bobcat sensors.
    I have a client who has a ocelot, and its been running for the last 5 years without a hitch. And I have a Homevision unit which has been running about the same length of time.
    Also check out Cinemar Solutions, and Homeseer. Cinemar solutions also do a plugin for Homeseer.
    Last edited by toscal; 4th December 2010 at 05:08 PM.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    817

    Default

    If you are able to share more detail on the application either via the forum or in private then it may be that a sub set of the IDRATEK system may do what you want without too much additional programming.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for your replies, I have had a look at Schelte's version of the HV software which I havn't seen before (thanks Toscal!) and as I can reuse my trusty old Home Vision removed from my old house, I am now going down the HV route again with futher expansion.

    I am pleasaed to see there is still ways to intergrate this ultra reliable controller with more user frendly software

  5. #5
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default

    Just to mention there is also a xAP gateway attachment for HomeVision. It's a box that attaches to a dedicated HV serial port and also plugs into your Ethernet network.

    It was originally designed to support the custom lighting features within HV and to interface with Clipsal / Schneider C-Bus lighting directly but that interface is an option.

    It basically allows the HV unit to report changes be controllable over your network and to be interfaced with any HA software / device that supports xAP. Most of the leading HA software applications offer this. HV I/O that changes state is notified realtime to the network. There are various touchscreen applications that support xAP too. Although the xAP gateway does have a web server interface it is not intended (or useable) as a web front end for HomeVision.

    K

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •