• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wolverine40
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Jan 2005

How to wire up my dimmer switch

Can anyone help me i'm a newbie and i have a problem trying to wire up my dimmer switch.my old switch is wired like this,2 red wires into L1 1 red wire into L2 and a black wire into L3.My new switch (dimmer) looks like this the 1st one looks like a ~ with a diagonal arrow through it the next one is L2 and the next is L1.Does anyone hve any ideas there are 3 switches in the room and they operate 2 lights.Hope you can help.Atb wolverine40.
  • Jakey
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2005

Re: How to wire up my dimmer switch

Ok, this is difficult to explain but easy. One of the terminals is what is known as the "common" and the others are normally L1 and L2. They are there depending on if the circuit is one way, i.e. only controlled from the one switch or two way (2 switches some distance apart that control the same light - e.g. typical hall/landing set up)

What you need to do is work out what one of the the wires is the common, on the old switch it will be the one that is permanently live and I guess in your case most likely a red. This should go to the common on the new switch. Not sure, but I assume when you say its new there was some box or packaging? normally there is a little leaflet in there that may say which terminal is what.

The other wires are called "strappers" and from what you have said my gues is that they run off the the second switch. Note: You can have a dimmer at both ends of a 2way switching set up! (I mean that you can use standard dimmers to do it with, otherwise you get low volts and pulsing of the lights). I can send you a diagram if you send me your e.mail.

Hope this is of some help.

Regards

Ex-sparky Jake

Comment

• bmcomp
      Automated Home Jr Member
      • Dec 2004

Hi,