• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rryles
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Oct 2010

Decision Time

Hi,

I've been interested in home automation since I was a kid, but have been renting for the decade since I flew the nest. However, I've finally bought my first house with my wife and we are building an extension and renovating the place. This is an ideal opportunity to install some home automation kit. So I need to make some decisions about what type of system to go for and could do with some input from you guys. In particular I need to decide on wiring schemes as this will have to be installed fairly soon.

I'll be putting plenty of Cat 5e in for various things. My main area of interest however is lighting control. I'd like to have all the house lights intelligently controlled. This means a Linux based PC controlling them, with custom software (I'm a software developer by trade). I'd like there to be the possibility of controlling the lights manually though if the PC dies.

As the whole house is being renovated I can run as many cables as I want so wireless is not a requirement. In fact I could "home run" all of the cabling and have a central dimmer rack next to the PC. Alternatively I can loop the lighting through the wall switches, including the neutral. Which do you think I should go for?

Of course I'd like the system to be cheap. Who doesn't? I don't see why it should have to be expensive. I don't need it to be wireless or to run over power lines. I can do a lot of DIY as I am competent with electronics and software. However my time is limited, and I do need to think of the day when we come to sell, which could be a problem with a non-standard design. I'm not keen on the latency/reliability of X10. I've looked at HomeEasy which is good for the price, but still worry slightly about reliability (what if multiple transmitters send at the same time). I would have thought that wired solutions should be cheaper, but CBus doesn't seem cheap.